all news
all artists
all releases
all events



traumton.radio
   Erika Stucky: Lovebites: Release Information

[Tracks]   [Info]   [Press]    [Order CD]



Release Date: 01.10.2003
EAN/UPC: 705304283721
TT Catalogue No: 4470

“Fasten your seat belt, I´m taking you on my trip : We will be overflying the so-called Heidi Alps, hitting Charles Manson on our way, passing Doris Day (or was it Mrs. Tate?), only to meet Nazareth for lunch and steal a kiss from Screaming Jay Hawkins or Joe Pesci whoever is home - and end up wiggling Rosmary‘s baby to sleep... Lean back, close your eyes and Trust In Me!“
Erika Stucky

LOVEBITES

Music is an eternal mystery, playing with people’s associations as if they were intelligible chess figures. But in an age when every sound imaginable enjoys unprecedented availability, fewer and fewer musicians are prepared, or even able to exhaust these creative possibilities fully.
Americano-Swiss vocalist Erika Stucky is one of those exceptional artists whose imaginative and suggestive power can shoot far beyond her creative will and open doors to hidden perception, memory, and learning, realms whose fascinating geography amaze and startle the lady herself as much as they do the fully unprepared listener.

Already on her last album „Bubbles And Bones“, Erica played an enigmatic game, pawning pieces from Alp folklore, pop and jazz. European collided with American and mostly inverted its valency just when you believed a musical position had been taken on one of the two continents. The demarcation line between archaic and avant-garde, between imagination and reality was overstepped from both sides The more reflection Erika Stucky allows herself, the more prophetically she looks ahead. For her it’s all about the absolute honesty of every single expression, which often sums up to something completely different than could ever be suspected by using simple addition.

On „Lovebites“, the Swiss globe trotter brews an even more organic hybrid from different cultural conditions, and epochs which exclude each other. She describes a wide span of melodies that everybody knows, but no one, in their supposed consequence, has ever dared to cover - from “A Whiter Shade Of Pale“ by Procul Harum, or the evergreen, lovesick schmaltzy “Love Hurts” by Nazareth, to a whole palette of her own songs. The amazing thing is that the songs she pens herself often sound more familiar than the classics.

The opener “Stolen Kisses” already offers an entire bouquet of familiar images and deja-vu’s. Erika Stucky takes the listener into a labyrinth of memories, and you never have to leave the vantage point of the present observer. Her songs are so relaxing because imagination gets by without being sentimental, and the whole album makes you feel like you’re just browsing through a glossy magazine.

Stucky’s images become three-dimensional with her voice often taking a different direction than that of her lyrics. With vocal command and melody, she sets fateful counterpoints to the lyrical content of the seemingly naïvely sung songs. “As an actress I follow the maxim not to play anything I don’t feel,” says Stucky. Some songs already exist as hooklines in my head and follow me around for days until I decide to give them flesh and bones. With other songs it’s pictures I’ve been carrying around for a long time that finally want to come out. And other songs I just heard some time on the radio. I was captivated by them and enthralled by the people behind them. I would sing them constantly again and again until I finally learned the lyrics by heart and made them my own. Before recording any one track I would tell my producer Knut Jensen the exact story of what connected me to the song.

This is the way „Lovebites“ became a film of sound. Made up of different episodes, Erika Stucky’s voice is the leitmotif. But the vocalist is not the only performer in this song movie. “I have the best band in the world”, she raves. “Without the boys the music wouldn’t be anywhere near what it is. Musicians like Ray Anderson, Lew Soloff, Jon Sass and Bertl Mütter are a godsend. In the last ten years I have worked intensively with horns and that undoubtedly has had a strong influence on my vocals.” Indeed, the horn section with two trombones, tuba, sousaphone and trumpet entwine around Stucky’s vocals like a fairy-tale arabesque, her voice itself bewitched into a verbal trombone. On the other hand, exactly this instrumentation supplies the architectonic fundament for the bridge between the Matterhorn and the swamps of Mississippi. In the cinema of her songs Erika Stucky does not only write the plots, but creates the stage and setting.

“Lovebites” is a collection of treasures, a basket of amber holding memories preserved, shimmering in the sun, awakening different associations in every beholder. It is just as much a loving and passionate declaration of faith to Switzerland, most prolific in the adaptation of Jimi Hendrix’s “If Six Was Nine” (of all songs!), with sound documents from the legendary “68 demonstrations in Zürich. At the same time the album describes an escape into the world and a return to the microcosm of a personality. Fierce anachronism as conscious resistance against digital frigidity, documented in the short spontaneous shred of conversation “Rolling”. Music as a process of an individual emotional and intellectual movement of permanent learning and re-evaluation. Last but not least, this album is an impressive manifesto of liberating doubt, which ultimately vents itself on the hidden track, “I Want A Man Like Joe Pesci”.

© Traumton Records



[top] [back]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home

Alle News
Alle Künstler
Alle CDs
Alle Tourdaten



traumton.radio
   Erika Stucky: Lovebites: Release-Informationen

[Tracks]   [Infos]    [CD bestellen]



VÖ: 01.10.2003
EAN/UPC: 705304283721
Traumton CD: 4470

“Fasten your seat belt, I´m taking you on my trip : We will be overflying the so-called Heidi Alps, hitting Charles Manson on our way, passing Doris Day (or was it Mrs. Tate?), only to meet Nazareth for lunch and steal a kiss from Screaming Jay Hawkins or Joe Pesci whoever is home - and end up wiggling Rosmary‘s baby to sleep... Lean back, close your eyes and Trust In Me!“
Erika Stucky

LOVEBITES

Musik ist ein ewiges Mysterium, das mit den Assoziationen der Menschen wie mit intelligiblen Schachfiguren spielt. Doch im Zeitalter stetig umgreifenderer Verfügbarkeit jedes nur denkbaren Klanges sind immer weniger Musiker bereit oder in der Lage, die gestalterischen Möglichkeiten dieses Mysterium bis zum Boden auszuschöpfen. Die amerikanoschweizerische Sängerin Erika Stucky gehört zu jenen Ausnahmekünstlern, deren imaginative und suggestive Kraft zeitweise weit über ihren schöpferischen Willen hinaus schießt und Tore zu verborgenen Wahrnehmungs-, Erinnerungs- und Aneignungsbereichen öffnet, deren faszinierende Geografie sie selbst ebenso erstaunt und erschüttert wie den völlig unvorbereiteten Hörer.

Schon auf ihrem letzten Album “Bubbles And Bones“ betrieb Erika Stucky ein hintergründiges Spiel mit Versatzstücken aus Alpenfolklore, Pop und Jazz. Europäisches prallte auf Amerikanisches und invertierte meist genau dann seine Wertigkeit, wenn man in der Musik auf einem der beiden Kontinente Stellung bezogen zu haben glaubte. Die Demarkationslinien zwischen Archaik und Avantgarde, zwischen Vorstellung und Wirklichkeit wurden von beiden Seiten durchbrochen. Je weiter sich Erika Stucky zurückfallen ließ, desto prophetischer schaute sie voraus. Es ging ihr um die absolute Wahrhaftigkeit jedes einzelnen Ausdrucks, deren Summe oft etwas völlig anderes ergab, als ihre einfache Addition hätte vermuten lassen.

Auf “Lovebites“ braut die schweizerische Weltenbummlerin ein noch organischeres Hybrid aus verschiedenen kulturellen Zuständen und einander ausschließenden Epochen. Sie beschreibt einen weiten Bogen von Melodien, die jeder kennt, in ihrer vermeintlichen Endgültigkeit jedoch keiner je zu covern gewagt hätte - so “A Whiter Shade Of Pale“ von Procul Harum oder die unvergängliche Liebeskummerschnulze “Love Hurts“ von Nazareth - zu einer Reihe von eigenen Songs. Erstaunlich ist dabei nur, dass die Songs aus Stuckys eigener Feder oft viel vertrauter klingen als die Klassiker. Gleich der Opener “Stolen Kisses“ offeriert ein ganzes Bündel bekannter Bilder und DÈj‡-vus. Erika Stucky nimmt den Hörer mit in ein Labyrinth der Erinnerung. Dazu braucht man niemals den Standpunkt des gegenwärtigen Beobachters zu verlassen. Ihre Songs sind gerade deshalb so entspannend, weil Imagination ohne Sentimentalität auskommt und das Album in seiner Gesamtheit anmutet, als würde man ein buntes Magazin durchblättern.

Stuckys Bilder werden dreidimensional, indem sie mit ihrer Stimme oft eine ganz andere Richtung einschlägt als mit ihren Texten. Mit Stimmführung und Melodie setzt sie schicksaltiefe Kontrapunkte zum wörtlichen Inhalt des oft naiv anmutenden gesungenen Textes. “Als Schauspielerin folge ich der Maxime, nichts zu spielen, was ich nicht fühle“, so Erika Stucky. “Manche Songs existieren als Hookline drei Tage in meinem Kopf, verfolgen mich, bis ich beschließe, ihnen mehr Fleisch am Knochen zu geben. Bei anderen Liedern sind es Bilder, die ich schon lange in mir trage und die endlich nach draußen wollen. Wieder andere Songs habe ich irgendwann im Radio gehört. Ich wurde von ihnen gefesselt und dem Menschen hinter ihnen verzaubert. Durch ständiges Wiedersingen lernte ich irgendwann den Text auswendig und machte sie zu meinen eigenen Songs. Vor der Aufnahme eines jeden Songs erzählte ich dem Produzenten Knut Jensen jedoch exakt die Geschichte, die ich mit ihm verband.“

Auf diese Weise wurde “Lovebites“ zu einem Klangfilm. Er setzt sich aus verschiedenen Episoden zusammen, deren roter Faden Erika Stuckys Stimme ist. Doch die Sängerin ist nicht die einzige Darstellerin in diesem Songstreifen. “Ich habe die beste Band der Welt“, schwärmt sie. “Ohne die Jungs wäre die Musik keinesfalls, was sie ist. Musiker wie Ray Anderson, Lew Soloff, Jon Sass und Bertl Mütter sind ein Gottesgeschenk. Ich habe in den letzten zehn Jahren so intensiv mit Bläsern gearbeitet, das mein Gesang davon sicher stark beeinflusst ist.“ In der Tat umrankt die Bläsersektion mit zwei Posaunen, Tuba, Sousaphon und Trompete Stuckys selbst zur Verbalposaune verzauberte Stimme wie märchenhaftes Rankenwerk. Andererseits liefert gerade diese Instrumentierung die architektonische Grundlage für die Brücke vom Matterhorn zu den Mississippi-Sümpfen. Im Kino ihrer Lieder inszeniert Erika Stucky nicht nur die Handlungsstränge, sondern getsaltet auch die Umgebung für ihre Songs.

“ Lovebites“ ist eine Sammlung von Kleinodien, ein Korb in der Sonne schillernder Bernsteine mit konservierten Erinnerungen, die in jedem Betrachter andere Assoziationen wecken. Es ist ein ebenso liebevolles wie leidenschaftliches Bekenntnis zur Schweiz, wie es ausgerechnet in der Adaption von Jimi Hendrix' “If Six Was Nine“ mit Klangdokumenten von den legendären '68er Demos in Zürich am besten zum Tragen kommt. Zugleich beschreibt das Album einen Ausbruch in die Welt und eine Rückkehr in den Mikrokosmos einer Persönlichkeit. Kämpferischer Anachronismus als bewusster Widerstand gegen digitale Kälte, dokumentiert in dem kurzen, spontanen Gesprächsfetzen “Rolling“. Musik als Prozess einer individuellen emotionalen und intellektuellen Bewegung, einer permanenten Aneignung und Neubewertung. Nicht zuletzt ist dieses Album das beeindruckende Manifest eines befreienden Zweifels, der sich ultimativ in dem Hidden Track “I Want A Man Like Joe Pesci“ entlädt.

© Traumton Records, Abdruck honorarfrei, Belegexemplar erbeten



[nach oben] [zurück]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home