all news
all artists
all releases
all events



traumton.radio
   Lisbeth Quartett: Constant Travellers: Release Information

[Tracks]   [Info]   [Media Resources]    [Order CD]



Release Date: 28.10.2011
EAN/UPC: 705304456224
TT Catalogue No: 4562

Lisbeth Quartett

Higher, faster, further. Yes, for some odd reason that’s what many believe about jazz: Like a traveling salesman, it has to be fast-paced, urbane, and noncommittal. Hyperbolic virtuosity often seems more decisive than sustainability, a dazzling concept more important than humility.

All the more surprising then to be confronted with the likes of Berlin’s Lisbeth Quartett, which was founded by saxophonist Charlotte Greve. Three of the four musicians are in their early twenties, but when you hear their music, you might think you are listening to a troop of old souls who are total strangers to any sense of false hectic fever.

But make no mistake: Their music is nothing if not modern. They thrive on the grooves and compositional principles of contemporary jazz, but the melodies and solos display a sovereignty and quiet curiosity that has nothing in common with the hectic and low-budget mentality of the times we live in. Greve, pianist Manuel Schmiedel, bassist Marc Muellbauer, and drummer Moritz Baumgärtner are old-school travellers. Deliberate, alert, and always in the moment – seekers keeping their distance from the well-beaten tourist path of improvised music.

That’s why The Lisbeth Quartett is also a godsend for German jazz. Four instrumentalists have joined forces to let each other be, and to encourage and complete one another. Very different experiences merge together in the talents of the musicians who support the award-winning bandleader. Manuel Schmiedel is one of the most sought-after pianists in the Berlin scene and is currently collaborating with American guitarist Kurt Rosenwinkel; the equally busy drummer Moritz Baumgärtner is active outside of the jazz scene, playing in indie rock and electro bands with members of the influential group The Notwist; and finally Marc Muellbauer, doubtless one of the most important bass players in Germany, counts playing with The Julia Hülsmann Trio among his list of accomplishments.

The Lisbeth Quartett’s debut CD “Grow,” which was released in 2009 as part of the renowned Next Generation Series co-produced by the magazine Jazz Thing and the Double Moon label, earned the band a great deal of much-deserved attention. Clarinetist Claudio Puntin praised the “natural, contagious power” of the bandleader’s musicianship, saxophonist David Binney attested that her ballad interpretation was wise beyond her years. On the heals of the CD release came concerts at Dublin’s 12 Points Festival, Burghausen’s Jazz Week, European Jazz Meeting in Berlin, and the JazzBaltica Festival in Salzau, where saxophonist Greve was presented with the JazzBaltica Most Promising Newcomer Award for 2010.

The new album “Constant Travellers,” released with the Traumton label, signifies the organic evolution of the potential exemplified in “Grow.” Indeed, the quartet has grown, become more open. The four instrumentalists have embarked on an expedition to music’s very source, to melody. They have set off on a path like the one taken by fellow explorers such as Lee Konitz, Bill Evans, Charlie Haden, and Paul Motian, but they have ended up in a completely different place.

The suite-like title piece, “Constant Travellers,” provides the best example. The inherently simple theme is passed carefully from one musician to the next, resulting in a sort of skewed canon that sounds like a cross between Bach fugue and Ornette Coleman harmolodics. With a calm, glowing intensity the band plays itself into a veritable frenzy – only to perform a slow-motion dissection of the piece’s motif in the second, balladesque part of “Constant Travellers.” This suite embodies all the essential qualities of The Lisbeth Quartett: Extraordinary concentration, dexterity that is never an end in itself, a playful shrewdness that denies any hint of pathos.

Put simply: The Lisbeth Quartett is a rarity in our hectic mobile world. An oasis, an escape, an adventure, a reminder. Constant travellers, ever-exploring with heart, spirit and soul.

[top] [back]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home

Alle News
Alle Künstler
Alle CDs
Alle Tourdaten



traumton.radio
   Lisbeth Quartett: Constant Travellers: Release-Informationen

[Tracks]   [Infos]    [Pressematerial]   [CD bestellen]



VÖ: 28.10.2011
EAN/UPC: 705304456224
Traumton CD: 4562

Lisbeth Quartett

Höher, weiter, schneller. Ja, es gibt diese seltsame Überzeugung: Jazz muss rasant, weltgewandt und unverbindlich sein wie ein Geschäftsmann auf Reisen. Überbordende Virtuosität scheint oftmals entscheidender als Nachhaltigkeit, ein schillerndes Konzept wichtiger als Bescheidenheit.

Umso erstaunlicher muss einem da das Lisbeth Quartett aus Berlin vorkommen. Drei der vier Mitglieder sind Anfang 20, aber wenn man die Musik der von der Saxofonistin Charlotte Greve gegründeten Formation hört, glaubt man, es mit lauter alten Seelen zu tun zu haben, denen sämtliche falsche Hektik vollkommen fremd ist.

Damit kein Missverständnis aufkommt: Die Stücke des Quartetts sind durchweg modern, sie leben von den Grooves und Kompositionsprinzipien der Jazz-Gegenwart. Aber in den Melodien und in den Soli offenbart sich eine Souveränität und ruhige Neugier, die nichts mit der Hektik der Billigflieger-Mentalität unserer Tage zu tun hat. Greve, Pianist Manuel Schmiedel, Bassist Marc Muellbauer und Schlagzeuger Moritz Baumgärtner sind Reisende alter Schule. Bedächtig, aufmerksam und immer im Moment - Suchende abseits der breit getretenen Touristenpfade der improvisierten Musik.

Das Lisbeth Quartett ist auch deshalb ein Glücksfall für den deutschen Jazz, weil sich hier vier Instrumentalisten zusammengeschlossen haben, die sich gewähren lassen, fordern und ergänzen. Es sind ganz unterschiedliche Erfahrungen, die bei den Mitmusikern der mehrfach preisgekrönten Bandleaderin zusammenkommen. Während Manuel Schmiedel als einer der meistgefragten Pianisten der Berliner Szene gilt und derzeit mit US-Gitarrist Kurt Rosenwinkel zusammenarbeitet, ist der ebenfalls extrem umtriebige Drummer Moritz Baumgärtner als Teil von Indie-Rock- und Elektro-Bands aus dem Umfeld der einflussreichen Formation „The Notwist“ auch jenseits der Jazzszene aktiv. Marc Muellbauer schließlich, unter anderem Mitglied des Julia Hülsmann Trios, zählt zweifellos zu den wichtigsten Bassisten des Landes.

Als Teil der renommierten, von dem Magazin „Jazz Thing“ und dem Label „Double Moon“ verantworteten „Next Generation“-Reihe veröffentlichte das Lisbeth Quartett 2009 die Aufnahme „Grow“. Das CD-Debüt brachte der Band viel Beachtung ein. Klarinettist Claudio Puntin lobte die „naturgegebene, ansteckende Kraft“ im Spiel der Bandleaderin, Saxofonist David Binney attestierte ihr eine Weisheit in der Balladeninterpretation, die weit jenseits ihrer Jahre liege. Für das Lisbeth Quartett folgten Konzerte beim 12 Points Festival in Dublin, bei der Burghausener Jazzwoche, dem European Jazz Meeting in Berlin und dem Festival JazzBaltica in Salzau, wo Saxofonistin Greve mit dem „JazzBaltica Förderpreis 2010“ ausgezeichnet wurde.

„ Constant Travellers“, das neue, bei „Traumton“ erscheinende Album, kann man als organische Weiterentwicklung von „Grow“ bezeichnen. Das Quartett ist gewachsen, offener geworden. Die vier Instrumentalisten begeben sich da auf eine Expedition zum Ursprung der Musik, zur Melodie. Sie machen sich dabei auf einen ähnlichen Weg wie ihre Forschungskollegen im Geiste, Lee Konitz, Bill Evans, Charlie Haden oder Paul Motian, aber sie kommen ganz woanders heraus.

Das suitenartige Titelstück „Constant Travellers“ ist dafür das beste Beispiel. Das an sich simple Thema wird von Musiker zu Musiker vorsichtig weitergereicht; es entsteht dabei eine Art von schräger Kanon, der sich wie eine Mischung aus Bach-Fuge und Ornette-Coleman-Harmolodics ausnimmt. Mit still glühender Intensität spielt sich die Band in einen veritablen Rausch – um das Stück-Motiv anschließend im zweiten, balladesken Teil von „Constant Travellers“ zeitlupenartig zu sezieren. In dieser Suite findet sich alles, was das Lisbeth Quartet ausmacht: Eine nie zum Selbstzweck eingesetzte Fingerfertigkeit, eine ungemeine Konzentriertheit, aber auch eine spielerische Gewitztheit, die jeglichem Pathos vorbeugt.

Man kann es nicht anders sagen: Das Lisbeth Quartett ist ein Unikum in unserer hektischen mobilen Welt. Constant Travellers, mit Sinn, Herz und Verstand.



[nach oben] [zurück]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home