all news
all artists
all releases
all events



traumton.radio
   Sebastian Sternal: Sternal Symphonic Society VOL.2: Release Information

[Tracks]   [Info]   [Media Resources]    [Order CD]



Release Date: 20.02.2015
EAN/UPC: 705304461624
TT Catalogue No: 4616

Sternal Symphonic Society VOL. 2

“Basically it were two ideas, that brought forth the Symphonic Society”, Sebastian Sternal recounts. “I wanted to bring together many musicians I really like, and furthermore I have been keen on working with a string quartet for a long time.” In 2011 the Cologne-based pianist and composer founded his Symphonic Society, one year later the debut album was released, which was awarded a Jazz-Echo in 2013. For Sternal, born 1983 in Mainz, this was neither the first, nor the last prize, but possibly the most important. In any case, it resulted in the unconventional project exceeding all commercial expectations as well. It was originally not a focus of Sebastian Sternal’s considerations that the appeal of the Society reaches across boundaries of style and genre. “I had wasted no thought on the question, if it is a mix of jazz and classical music,“ he explains, “actually the combination was not a conscious part of the concept, but it belongs to my biography.”

Sebastian Sternal had his first piano lessons when he was six years old. In high school he was crazy about Herbie Hancock, Miles Davis, Sting and film music of John Williams; from time to time he also directed the school’s big band, when they were playing his compositions. After graduating with a double major (artistic and pedagogical) in Cologne, Sternal studied composition at the conservatory in Paris for one year - with a lasting effect. “Classical music played a big role there, not only in theory and analysis. I was also composing for a symphonic orchestra at the time.” Back in Germany it was self-evidently beyond all question to use such huge orchestra instrumentation for a project of one’s own. Sternal was much more interested in crossing the richness of sound of a much more flexible string quartet with typical jazz instruments. The core idea thereby was that everybody plays 100% that, what he or she is best at. “I love this full string sound, which classically trained musicians master so precisely,” Sternal says, “I’m not concerned with the fact, that they can improvise too. The important thing is that they can impress the listener with their own qualities just as much as the jazz musicians do with their talent for improvisations and abstractions.”

The second album is even more cut out for the personalities convened by Sebastian Sternal. “After the first production and the following concerts I know them all even better and I have composed certain sections or lines specifically to suit their strengths,” Sternal describes the advancement, “in this way I could devise an even greater spectrum of timbres and tones.” Of course the strings are not just laying down static tapestries of sound here. Even in reticent accompaniments they rather seem like independent energy fields, with a great enjoyment of counterpoints. Thereby they are not fixated on their role as a quartet, but can also appear singularly, as individual parts.

Everybody who has followed jazz from Germany in the last couple of years will probably be familiar with a majority of the Society members. Trumpeter Frederik Köster and drummer Jonas Burgwinkel, both Echo-awardees as well, have distinguished themselves as jazz-individualists with their own remarkable productions. Just like Pablo Held, who is one of the most exciting young pianists and has been in an outstanding trio with Burgwinkel and the great bass player Robert Landfermann for years. Trombonist Klaus Heidenreich is the youngest member of the NDR-Bigband and alto-saxophonist Christoph Möckel is responsible for the warmhearted tones. Niels Klein, who has already played with Toots Thielmanns, Charlie Mariano and Peter Erskine, contributes full-blown improvisational art.

The strings participating in the current production are also top-class musicians. The first violinist Erik Schumann has already played as a soloist for Christoph Eschenbach, with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and the Orchestre National de France as well as with the WDR Symphony Orchestra. The violist Magdalena Härtl is also part of this WDR orchestra, while the cellist Thomas Schmitz is part of to the internationally award-winning Signum Quartett (and by the way is an Echo-Award winner too). Sebastian Sternal says about the 33-year-old Erik Schumann, that he is not only one of the currently most sought-after violinists of his generation, but that he also has a remarkable sense for jazz. “His concentrated and simultaneously open attitude towards making music influences the entire band.”

As composer and arranger, Sebastian Sternal has put the improvisation mostly in the hands of his jazz-colleagues. But not only in solo passages are there parts of the score that are open for ideas of the partaking musicians. However, these don’t always directly reveal themselves as such. “Pablo can often decide for himself, how he interprets chord symbols”, Sternal describes his principle of composition, “likewise, Jonas has a lot of freedom within a clearly defined pulse, to enhance it with personal sounds. I just know that the outcome will be better, if I give the jazz-virtuosos a lot of individual responsibility.”

Of course Sternal Symphonic Society Volume 2 is also a jazz album, despite the unusual instrumentation and several solo-sections of the strings; alone on account of some grooves and breaks of Jonas Burgwinkel or because of Sternal’s energetic piano playing in the erratic piece “Run”. Not to mention the occasionally expressive solos of the wind section. “Jazz has had an essential influence on me”, Sternal states. “I like it, because it is inherently open and has always incorporated the most different influences and created something new from them.” That can undoubtedly also be said about Sebastian Sternal and his Symphonic Society. It is in good and likewise international company.



[top] [back]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home

Alle News
Alle Künstler
Alle CDs
Alle Tourdaten



traumton.radio
   Sebastian Sternal: Sternal Symphonic Society VOL.2: Release-Informationen

[Tracks]   [Infos]    [Pressematerial]   [CD bestellen]



VÖ: 20.02.2015
EAN/UPC: 705304461624
Traumton CD: 4616

Sebastian Sternal - Sternal Symphonic Society Vol.2

„Im Grunde waren es zwei Gedanken, die zur Symphonic Society führten“, erzählt Sebastian Sternal. „Ich wollte ganz viele Musiker zusammen bringen, die ich toll finde und hatte außerdem schon lange Lust, mit einem Streichquartett zu arbeiten.“ 2011 gründete der in Köln ansässige Pianist und Komponist seine Symphonic Society, ein Jahr später erschien das Debütalbum, das 2013 mit einem Jazz-Echo gekrönt wurde. Weder die erste, noch die letzte Auszeichnung für den 1983 in Mainz geborenen Musiker, aber möglicherweise die wichtigste. Jedenfalls übertraf das unkonventionelle Projekt in der Folge auch noch sämtliche kommerziellen Erwartungen. Die Stile und Grenzen übergreifende Attraktivität der Society stand für Sebastian Sternal ursprünglich gar nicht im Mittelpunkt der Überlegung. „Ich hatte keinen Gedanken daran verschwendet, ob es eine Mischung aus Jazz und Klassik ist“, erklärt er, „tatsächlich war diese Verbindung kein bewusster Teil des Konzepts, aber sie gehört zu meiner Biographie.“

Seinen ersten Klavierunterricht bekam Sebastian Sternal mit sechs Jahren. Im Gymnasium begeisterte er sich für Herbie Hancock, Miles Davis, Sting und Filmmusik von John Williams; mitunter dirigierte er die dortige Bigband, wenn sie seine Kompositionen spielte. Nach einem Doppeldiplom (künstlerisch und pädagogisch) in Köln studierte Sternal ein Jahr Komposition am Konservatorium in Paris, mit nachhaltiger Wirkung. „Die Klassik spielte dort eine große Rolle, nicht nur in Theorie und Analyse. Ich habe in dieser Zeit auch für ein Sinfonieorchester geschrieben.“ Zurück in Deutschland stand natürlich außer Frage, einen so großen Orchester-Dampfer für ein eigenes Projekt einzusetzen. Vielmehr interessierte Sternal, den Klangreichtum eines ungleich beweglicheren Streichquartetts mit typischen Jazzinstrumenten zu kreuzen. Die Kernidee dabei war, dass jeder zu 100% das spielt, was er oder sie am besten kann. „Ich liebe diesen vollen Streicherklang, den klassisch geschulte Musiker präzise beherrschen“, sagt Sternal, „es geht mir nicht darum, dass sie außerdem auch noch improvisieren können. Wichtig ist, dass sie mit ihren eigenen Qualitäten den Hörer ebenso beeindrucken wie die beteiligten Jazzmusiker mit ihrem Talent für Improvisationen und Abstraktionen.“

Das zweite Album ist noch stärker auf die von Sebastian Sternal versammelten Persönlichkeiten zugeschnitten. „Nach der ersten Produktion und den folgenden Konzerten kenne ich sie alle noch viel besser und habe nun bestimmte Stellen oder Linien direkt in Richtung ihrer Stärken komponiert“, beschreibt Sternal die Weiterentwicklung, „so konnte ich ein noch größeres Spektrum an Klangfarben entwerfen.“ Selbstverständlich legen die Streicher hier nicht einfach flächige Klangteppiche, sondern wirken sogar in zurückhaltenden Begleitungen als eigenständige Energiefelder, mit Spaß an Kontrapunkten. Dabei sind sie nicht auf ihre Rolle als Quartett fixiert, sondern können auch mal einzeln, als individuelle Stimmen, auftreten.

Allen, die sich in den letzten Jahren mit Jazz aus Deutschland beschäftigt haben, dürfte die Mehrzahl der Society-Mitglieder vertraut sein. Trompeter Frederik Köster und Schlagzeuger Jonas Burgwinkel, beide ebenfalls Echo-Preisträger, haben sich durch bemerkenswerte eigene Produktionen als Jazz-Individualisten profiliert. Ebenso Pablo Held, der zu den spannendsten jungen Pianisten gehört und der mit Burgwinkel und dem großartigen Bassisten Robert Landfermann seit Jahren ein herausragendes Trio bildet. Posaunist Klaus Heidenreich ist das jüngste Mitglied der NDR-Bigband, Altsaxophonist Christoph Möckel für warmherzige Töne zuständig. Ausgeprägte Improvisationskunst bringt Saxophonist/Klarinettist Niels Klein mit, der schon neben Toots Thielemanns, Charlie Mariano und Peter Erskine spielte

Hochkarätig sind auch die an der aktuellen Produktion beteiligten Streicher. Der 1. Violinist Erik Schumann spielte bereits als Solist unter Christoph Eschenbach, mit dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra und dem Orchestre National de France sowie beim Sinfonieorchester des WDR. Dort arbeitet auch die Bratschistin Magdalena Härtl, während Cellist Thomas Schmitz zum international vielfach ausgezeichneten Signum Quartett gehört (und übrigens ebenfalls Echo-Preisträger ist). Über den 33-jährigen Erik Schumann sagt Sebastian Sternal, er sei nicht nur einer der aktuell am meisten angesagten Geiger seiner Generation, sondern habe auch einen bemerkenswerten Sinn für Jazz. „Seine konzentrierte und gleichzeitig offene Musizierhaltung prägt die gesamte Band.“

Als Komponist und Arrangeur hat Sebastian Sternal die Improvisationen weitgehend in die Hände seiner Jazz-Kollegen gelegt. Nicht nur in Solo-Passagen sind Teile der Partitur offen für Ideen der beteiligten Musiker. Allerdings würden sich diese nicht immer direkt als solche offenbaren. „Pablo kann oft selbst entscheiden, wie er die Akkordsymbole interpretiert“, beschreibt Sternal sein Kompositionsprinzip, „ebenso hat Jonas innerhalb eines klar definierten Puls viel Freiheit, diesen mit persönlichen Sounds anzureichern. Ich weiß einfach, dass das Ergebnis besser wird, wenn ich den Jazzvirtuosen viel Eigenverantwortung überlasse.“

Trotz der ungewöhnlichen Besetzung und einiger Solo-Passagen der Streicher ist auch Sternal Symphonic Society Volume 2 natürlich ein Jazzalbum. Allein schon wegen mancher Grooves und Breaks von Jonas Burgwinkel, oder wegen Sternals  energiegeladenem Klavierspiel im sprunghaften Stück „Run“. Nicht zu sprechen von  bisweilen expressiven Soli der Bläser. „Der Jazz hat mich entscheidend geprägt“, hält Sternal fest. „Ich mag ihn, weil er von je her offen ist, sich schon immer verschiedenste Einflüsse einverleibt und daraus etwas neues kreiert hat.“ Das lässt sich zweifellos auch über Sebastian Sternal und seine Symphonic Society sagen. Sie befindet sich in ebenso guter wie internationaler Gesellschaft.



[nach oben] [zurück]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home