all news
all artists
all releases
all events



traumton.radio
   Telmo Pires: Ser Fado: Release Information

[Tracks]   [Info]   [Media Resources]    [Order CD]



Release Date: 11.03.2016
EAN/UPC: 705304463024
TT Catalogue No: 4630


Telmo Pires - Ser Fado

Telmo Pires is a “fadista”, poet, composer and one of the few men in the panorama of Fado who appears internationally and the press calls him “the modern incarnation of the Fado”.

In March 2016 his new album SER FADO / BEING FADO is released - it represents the essence of his idea of Fado in matured form. A Fado that goes back to the origin and the roots of the tradition, as apposed to many current Fado productions, which try to converge towards the mainstream and the international market through the use of pop elements and modern instrumentations. A Fado that is essentially brought to life by the expression of Pires’ voice, as well as the Portuguese and Classical guitar.

SER FADO, Telmo Pires’ second album recorded in Lisbon, joins some of the great classics like the Fado Vianinha, the Fado Alfacinha and the Fado Bailado of the wonderful Alfredo Marceneiro - all with new lyrics, partly by Telmo Pires himself and also by the contemporary Lisbon poets Nuno Miguel Guedes and Daniel Lourenço. For the first time lyrics were “tailor-made” specifically for Pires, so to speak.

The album also presents Fados that are not entirely traditional: Ausente / Absent is a poem set to music by Custódio Castelo; a poem of the legendary Jorge Fernando, who performed as a young guitarist alongside Amália Rodrigues and is considered one of the main discoverers and patrons of new talent in Portugal. The poem is about someone, who bid farewell to his people, because he has the impression that he was born on the wrong side of life. It seems to him like his place is somewhere else and he sets off on his search on an unknown path.

From Davide Zaccaria, the producer of the album, Pires chose the pieces Amanha no mar / Tomorrow on the Sea and Desfeito / Undone. For the latter Telmo also wrote the lyrics. It describes the feeling that emerges when we believe that our dreams are crumbling away, because we are not daring to live them and the regret that arises when we realize that we have given up on our dreams.

Someone who opened completely new paths for the Fado and for Amália Rodrigues was the composer Alain Oulman. As the son of a publisher he was very interested in literature and as a composer he liked working with texts of contemporary Portuguese poets. His song structure and harmonic context were more complex than usual in Fado until then. The texts he set to music were uncommonly modern and were received quite controversially at first. Of his pieces, Pires sings As mãos que trago / The hands I carry and Malaventurado / Unlucky Fellow, two titles that are most seldomly or never heard in traditional Fado houses. With this homage to Oulman, Pires bows to his art and his courage, for which he is still today considered a revolutionary.

The piece Malaventurado was recorded in the middle of the night after a long day at the studio when the musicians had left already. A spontaneous idea with a text that was dear to Pires’ heart - only the words of the poet Bernadim Ribeiro from the 16th century are heard, which Pires brings to life again to the melody of Alain Oulman.

A particular highlight is a song with folkloristic roots: Ao passar por Braga abaixo / Passing Through Braga by the music legend António Variações, who died much too early in 1984 and couldn’t publish this song anymore. A few days after the brother and executor of the will of Variações saw a concert of Telmo Pires in Lisbon for the first time, he spontaneously gave him the original demo recordings and turned over the rights to Pires, to interpret this song and to be the first to publish it.

SER FADO is the peak so far of the extraordinary career of a remarkable artist. Born in the north of Portugal, he spent most of his life in Germany, where he began his career and recorded his first albums. Six years ago he left his “comfort zone” in Berlin and adventuresomely put himself into the hands of the Fado in its city Lisbon.

On arrival there in 2011 he recorded his album FADO PROMESSA (Traumton Records 2012). As producer and musical director one of the most renowned musicians of the country stood by his side: Davide Zaccaria. With the new production SER FADO they continue their fruitful collaboration.

Concerts, showcases, TV and radio appearances followed. Everyone had become curious about the charismatic “new guy”, who had caused a sensation with his unconventional manner and his style. So curious, that he was invited to perform in the “Museu do Fado“ in Lisbon in 2014. With its work the Fado museum significantly contributed to the recognition of Fado as UNESCO Cultural World Heritage in 2011 and is hence regarded as the highest instance of present-day Fado. The enthusiasm following this first sold-out concert there was so great, that the Fado museum became a supporter and co-producer of the new album SER FADO.

Telmo Pires, a European born in Portugal and raised in Germany sets off to rediscover the traditions of the Lisbon song and carry it into the world - the traditions of an old Fado, that always sounds new in his voice.

* Braga is the hometown of António Variações, located in the north of Portugal



[top] [back]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home

Alle News
Alle Künstler
Alle CDs
Alle Tourdaten



traumton.radio
   Telmo Pires: Ser Fado: Release-Informationen

[Tracks]   [Infos]    [Pressematerial]   [CD bestellen]



VÖ: 11.03.2016
EAN/UPC: 705304463024
Traumton CD: 4630


Telmo Pires - Ser Fado

Telmo Pires ist „Fadista“, Poet, Komponist und einer der wenigen Männer im Panorama des Fado, der international in Erscheinung tritt und die Presse nennt ihn „Die moderne Inkarnation des Fado“.

Im März 2016 erscheint sein neues Album SER FADO/ FADO SEIN – das in gereifter Form die Essenz seiner Idee des Fado repräsentiert. Ein Fado der sich, im Gegensatz zu vielen aktuellen Fado-Produktionen, die über den Einsatz von Pop-Elementen und moderner Instrumentierung versuchen, sich dem Mainstream und dem internationalen Markt anzunähern, dadurch unterscheidet, dass er sich immer mehr dem Ursprung, den Wurzeln, der Tradition nähert. Ein Fado der im Wesentlichen durch den Ausdruck von Pires’ Stimme sowie der portugiesischen und der klassischen Gitarre zum Leben erweckt wird.

SER FADO, Telmo Pires’ zweites in Lissabon aufgenommenes Album, vereint einige der großen Klassiker wie z.B. den Fado Vianinha, den Fado Alfacinha und den Fado Triplicado, sowie die berühmten Fado Versículo und Fado Bailado des wunderbaren Alfredo Marceneiro – alle mit neuen Texten, teils von Telmo Pires selbst und von den zeitgenössischen Lissabonner Dichtern Nuno Miguel Guedes und Daniel Lourenço. Zum ersten Mal wurden Pires Texte sozusagen auf den Leib geschrieben.

Auch den nicht ganz traditionellen Fados öffnet sich das Album: Ausente / Abwesend ist ein von Custódio Castelo vertontes Gedicht des legendären Jorge Fernando, der schon als junger Gitarrist an der Seite von Amália Rodrigues auftrat und in Portugal als einer der größten Entdecker und Förderer von neuen Talenten gilt. Es handelt von einem, der sich von den Seinen verabschiedet, weil er den Eindruck hat, auf der falschen Seite des Lebens geboren worden zu sein. Ihm scheint, dass sein Platz woanders sei und begibt sich als Suchender auf einen unbekannten Weg.

Vom Produzenten des Albums, Davide Zaccaria, wählte Pires die Stücke Amanha no mar / Morgen auf dem Meer und Desfeito / Zerfallen aus. Zu letzterem verfasste Telmo auch den Text. Er beschreibt das aufkommende Gefühl wenn wir glauben, dass unsere Träume zu zerfallen drohen weil wir nicht wagen, sie zu leben und das Bereuen, das sich einstellt, wenn wir begreifen, das wir unsere Träume aufgegeben haben.

Einer, der dem Fado und Amália Rodrigues ganz neue Wege eröffnete,  war der Komponist Alain Oulman. Als Sohn einer Verlegerin  interessierte dieser sich sehr für Literatur und  arbeite als Komponist gerne mit Texten von zeitgenössischen portugiesischen Dichtern. Seine Songstrukturen und harmonischen Zusammenhänge waren komplexer als bis dahin im Fado üblich. Die von ihm vertonten Texte ungewohnt modern und wurden anfangs recht kontrovers aufgenommen.  Von ihm singt Pires As mãos que trago / Die Hände, die ich trage und Malaventurado / Der Unglückselige, zwei Titel, die man in den in den traditionellen Fadohäusern höchst selten oder gar nicht zu hören bekommt. Mit dieser Hommage an Oulman verneigt sich Pires vor dessen  Kunst und seinem Mut, wofür er auch noch heute als revolutionär gilt.

Das Stück Malaventurado wurde nach einem langen Studiotag, nachdem die Musiker schon gegangen waren, mitten in der Nacht aufgenommen. Eine spontane Idee, ein Text der Pires am Herzen lag – man hört nur die Worte des Dichters Bernardim Ribeiro aus dem 16. Jahrhundert, denen Pires zu der Melodie von Alain Oulman wieder Leben einhaucht.

Ein besonderes Highlight ist ein Song mit folkloristischen Wurzeln  Ao passar por Braga* abaixo / Als ich durch Braga ging der Musiklegende António Variações, der 1984 viel zu früh verstarb und dieses Lied nicht mehr veröffentlichen konnte. Einige Tage nachdem der Bruder und Nachlassverwalter von Variações zum ersten Mal ein Konzert von Telmo Pires in Lissabon besuchte, übergab er ihm spontan die originalen Demoaufnahmen und überließ ihm die Rechte, diesen Song zu interpretieren und erstmals zu veröffentlichen.

SER FADO ist der bisherige Höhepunkt der ungewöhnlichen Laufbahn eines außergewöhnlichen Künstlers. Geboren im Norden Portugals, verbrachte er die meiste Zeit seines Lebens in Deutschland, wo er seine Karriere begann und seine ersten Alben aufnahm. Vor 6 Jahren verließ er seine „comfort zone“ in Berlin und begab sich abenteuerlustig und risikobereit in die Hände des Fado in seiner Stadt Lissabon.

Dort angekommen nahm er 2011 sein Album FADO PROMESSA (Traumton Records 2012) auf. Als Produzent und musikalischer Leiter stand ihm einer der renommiertesten  Musiker des Landes zur Seite: Davide Zaccaria. Bei der Produktion von SER FADO setzen beide ihre fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit fort.

Es folgten Konzerte, Showcases, TV- und Radioauftritte. Man war neugierig auf den charismatischen „Neuen“ geworden der durch seine unkonventionelle Art, seinen Stil für Aufsehen sorgte. So neugierig, dass er 2014 eingeladen wurde, im „Museu do Fado“ in Lissabon aufzutreten. Das Fadomuseum hatte mit seiner Arbeit maßgeblich zur Anerkennung des Fado als UNESCO Weltkulturerbe 2011 beigetragen und gilt somit als höchste Instanz des heutigen Fado. Die Begeisterung nach diesem ersten, ausverkauften Konzert dort war so groß, dass das Fadomuseum zum Unterstützer und Co-Produzenten des neuen Albums SER FADO wurde.

Telmo Pires, ein in Portugal geborener, in Deutschland aufgewachsener Europäer macht sich auf, die Traditionen des Lissabonner Liedes wiederzuentdecken und in die Welt hinaus zu tragen. Die eines alten Fados, der in seiner Stimme immer neu klingt.

 

* Braga ist die im Norden Portugals gelegene Heimatstadt von António Variações

 



[nach oben] [zurück]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home