all news
all artists
all releases
all events



traumton.radio
   Shake Stew: The Golden Fang: Release Information

[Tracks]   [Info]   [Media Resources]    [Order CD]



Release Date: 17.02.2017
EAN/UPC: 705304463925
TT Catalogue No: 4639

Shake Stew - The Golden Fang

As the youngest musician so far in the history of the Jazzfestival Saalfelden, the double bass player and composer Lukas Kranzelbinder had the honor to play the opening concert in 2016 with his band Shake Stew. Both audience and press were thrilled. Der Standard from Vienna describes the septet’s performance as a „magical opening hour“, to the Kurier Shake Stew sounds „like an intergalactic road movie for the ears.“ The Süddeutsche Zeitung calls the bassist and composer Kranzelbinder a whizz kid and credits him with “an intelligent game of deception with tradition framed by two wonderful alpine gospel songs”. The Oberösterreichische Nachrichten verifies the “concert was celebrated with good reason” and adds: “The 28-year-old writes fantastic pieces, which optimally feature the exciting instrumentation with its three-part horn section and two basses and drummers. The saxophones of Clemens Salesny and Johannes Schleiermacher sound magnificent and Mario Rom’s trumpet shines. With such up-and-coming talent the Austrian jazz stands on solid ground.”

Shake Stew brings together seven unconventional musicians, all of them interesting characters of the young European jazz scene. They are united with bandleader Kranzelbinder by the pursuit of new, enhanced sound possibilities and by concepts beyond boundaries of genre, which are by now already considered a guarantee with Kranzelbinder. His own distinct combination of virtuosity, entertainment and uncompromising energy comes out in many of his projects and has meanwhile become a kind of trademark of the hard working musician, composer, and arranger. Besides the premiere of his Spanish jazz opera “Muchogusto”, the organization of the Europe-wide music festival “Polyamory Sound Festival”, the conceptual planning of concert hikes at an altitude above 2000 meters under the motto “Almrauschen” [alpine rush] and concert tours from Japan to Mexico, he recently particularly called attention to himself as a band member of Mario Rom’s INTERZONE. In this trio, with trumpeter Mario Rom and drummer Herbert Pirker (both also Shake Stew members), he raises a musical storm true the motto “Everything is allowed”, in which reminiscences of jazz history, blues and bop motifs, rock and funk attitude, virtuosity and humor are swirled together. After consequent reduction in that trio setting, the pendulum now swings in the other direction with Shake Stew. Three soloists and a doubled rhythm section impress deeply, as the Wiener Zeitung describes it: “There are shamanic sound-streaks wafting by, colossal beat architectures banging and energy-drunken horn parts driving wavy lines - a grand sound experience!”

The Golden Fang is Shake Stew’s debut album. It was recorded in one day directly before the opening concert in Saalfelden. Concentration and focus of the musicians characterize this band; in an involved process they prepared themselves for a whole year for their first concert and regard the prominent festival show in Saalfelden as the begin of a long and exciting journey to most different spheres. The Golden Fang consciously brings together a wide-ranging spectrum of musical ideas. The two live tracks from the concert included on the album reflect the starting situation of a band with far-reaching sound possibilities. The mysterious cosmos of tracks like “Stone of Mu”, “Shake The Dust” or “Moon Gong” draws its inspiration from the works of Thomas Pynchon or Jim Jarmusch, while the pure energy of “Holy Preacher” and “Preaching To The Choir” is strongly characterized by the intensity and the wink of past heroes and shady doctors.
Thomas Pynchon is attested with stylistic virtuosity and extremely high abundance of information and there Shake Stew are in no way inferior to their inspirational source. Non-linearly they knit a dense web of references between various styles, always in search of something, at which absurdity and playful wit fantastically evolve. A promising start and a great pleasure!



[top] [back]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home

Alle News
Alle Künstler
Alle CDs
Alle Tourdaten



traumton.radio
   Shake Stew: The Golden Fang: Release-Informationen

[Tracks]   [Infos]    [Pressematerial]   [CD bestellen]



VÖ: 17.02.2017
EAN/UPC: 705304463925
Traumton CD: 4639

release Österreich 01.12.2016
release world 17.02.2017

 

Shake Stew - The Golden Fang

Als bisher jüngster Musiker in der Geschichte des Jazzfestivals Saalfelden erhielt der Kontrabassist und Komponist Lukas Kranzelbinder 2016 den Auftrag, mit seiner Band Shake Stew das Eröffnungskonzert zu spielen. Publikum und Presse reagierten begeistert. Der Standard aus Wien beschrieb den Auftritt des Septetts als eine „magische Eröffnungsstunde“, für den Kurier klingt Shake Stew „wie ein intergalaktisches Roadmovie für die Ohren“. Die Süddeutsche Zeitung nennt den Bassisten und Komponisten Kranzelbinder einen Senkrechtstarter und attestiert ihm „ein intelligentes Vexierspiel mit der Tradition, gerahmt von zwei wunderbaren Alpen-Gospel-Stücken”. Die Oberösterreichischen Nachrichten schließlich konstatieren ein „zu Recht umjubeltes Konzert“ und fügen hinzu: „Der 28-jährige schreibt grandiose Stücke, die die spannende Instrumentierung mit drei Bläsern, zwei Bässen und Drummern bestens zur Geltung bringt. Großartig klingen die Saxophone von Clemens Salesny und Johannes Schleiermacher, und Mario Roms Trompete strahlt. Mit diesem Nachwuchs steht der österreichische Jazz auf gesunden Beinen.“ 

Shake Stew versammelt sieben unkonventionelle Musiker, allesamt interessante Charaktere der jungen europäischen Jazzszene. Mit Bandleader Kranzelbinder eint sie das Streben nach neuen, erweiterten Klangmöglichkeiten und über Genregrenzen hinaus gedachten Konzepten, für die Kranzelbinder inzwischen schon als Garant gilt. Die ihm eigene Verbindung aus Virtuosität, Unterhaltung und kompromissloser Energie zieht sich durch viele seiner Projekte und ist mittlerweile zu einer Art Markenzeichen des umtriebigen Musikers, Komponisten und Arrangeurs geworden.  Neben der Uraufführung seiner spanischen Jazz-Oper „Muchogusto“ und der Organisation des europaweiten Musikfestivals „Polyamory Sound Festival“, der Konzeption von  Konzertwanderungen auf über 2000 Metern Höhe unter dem Motto „Almrauschen“ und Konzertreisen von Japan bis Mexiko, machte er in letzter Zeit vor allem als Bandmitglied von Mario Rom's INTERZONE auf sich aufmerksam. Im Trio mit dem Trompeter  Mario Rom und dem Schlagzeuger Herbert Pirker (beide auch Shake Stew Mitglieder) entfacht er dort frei nach dem Motto „Alles ist erlaubt“ seit einigen Jahren einen musikalischen Sturm, in dem Anklänge an die Jazzgeschichte, Blues- und Bop-Motive, Rock- und Funk-Attitüde, Virtuosität und Humor verwirbeln. Nach der konsequenten Reduktion in Trio-Besetzung schlägt nun mit  Shake Stew das Pendel in die andere Richtung. Drei Solisten und doppelt besetze Rhythmusgruppe beeindrucken nachhaltig, wie die Wiener Zeitung es beschreibt: „Da wehen schamanische Klangschlieren, böllern kolossale Beat-Architekturen oder fahren energietrunkene Bläserstimmen Schlangenlinien - großes Klangkino!“ 

„The Golden Fang“ ist das Debüt -Album von Shake Stew. Es wurde an einem einzigen Tag direkt vor dem Eröffnungskonzert in Saalfelden aufgenommen. Konzentration und Fokussierung der Musiker prägen diese Band, die sich in einem aufwendigen Prozess ein Jahr lang auf  ihr erstes Konzert vorbereitet hat und den prominenten Festival-Auftritt in Saalfelden als Beginn einer langen und aufregenden Reise in unterschiedlichste Sphären betrachtet. The Golden Fang bündelt bewusst ein sehr breit gefächertes Spektrum musikalischer Ideen. Die auf dem Album enthaltenen zwei Live-Tracks des Konzertes reflektieren die Ausgangssituation einer Band mit weitreichenden Klangmöglichkeiten. Der mysteriöser Kosmos von Titeln wie Stone of Mu, Shake the Dust oder Moon Gong bezieht seine Inspiration aus den Werken von Thomas Pynchon oder Jim Jarmusch, während die pure Energie von Holy Preacher und Preaching To The Choir stark von der Intensität und dem Augenzwinkern vergangener Helden und zwielichtiger Doktoren geprägt ist. 

Thomas Pynchon wird stilistische Virtuosität und extrem hohe Informationsfülle bescheinigt, da stehen Shake Stew ihrer Inspirationsquelle nicht nach, non-linear knüpfen sie ein dichtes Netz aus Bezügen zwischen unterschiedlichsten Stilistiken, immer auf der Suche,  bei der Irr- und Spielwitz sich fantastisch verdichten. Ein vielversprechender Start und ein großes Vergnügen!



[nach oben] [zurück]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home