all news
all artists
all releases
all events



traumton.radio
   Kookoon: Nightfall: Release Information

[Tracks]   [Info]   [Media Resources]    [Order CD]



Release Date: 11.08.2017
EAN/UPC: 705304464120
TT Catalogue No: 4641



Kookoon - Nightfall

High Wire, Inner Earth, Magnetic Moon - over the past 20 years Kookoon has addressed places of longing and states of emergency again and again. While High Wire and Magnetic Moon were still meditative, devoted to floating, balance and magical attraction and Inner Earth was still an experimental exploration and collage of earth-immanent sounds, his new album Nightfall is clearly more concrete and urbanely set.

Nightfall refers to the blue hour, in which the day comes to an end and the night hasn’t started yet: the time between dawn and darkness. It is a mystically enchanted time of transition, a time between desire and oblivion, a time in which reality and opportunity meet, a time of suggestive force.

Kookoon is fascinated by this “blanking interval”, this time of vague outlines that leaves room for imagination and dreams, for an infinite variety of shades. He could never say that something or someone influences him; it is always the field of tension that tempts and fascinates him. In comparison, Nightfall is a reminiscence of California, where the shoreline is made up of fascinating diversity between urbanity, nature and mythology. With a metropolis like L.A., which - being extremely metropolitan and lying directly by the ocean, integrated into a staggering natural setting with snow-covered mountains and deserts in the backcountry - it has inspired songs like “Topanga”, “Redondo” and “Pierview”.

In contrast to the titles on High Wire and Magnetic Moon, which were characterized by detailed, almost minimalistic structures, Kookoon dedicates Nightfall to larger forms, expansive arcs of tension and developments. It also includes live instruments; different from previous albums, the drum tracks were recorded live by Max Bendel and further guests are guitarist Michael Rodach, trumpeter Paul Brody and the American vibraphonist David Friedman.

Nightfall is a soundtrack for the interim period, soaked in deep blue, the color of the ocean and the sky, the vastness and distance, of desire and the unreachable: a place, where the search is much more exciting than finding.



[top] [back]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home

Alle News
Alle Künstler
Alle CDs
Alle Tourdaten



traumton.radio
   Kookoon: Nightfall: Release-Informationen

[Tracks]   [Infos]    [Pressematerial]   [CD bestellen]



VÖ: 11.08.2017
EAN/UPC: 705304464120
Traumton CD: 4641



Kookoon - Nightfall

High Wire, Inner Earth, Magnetic Moon - über die letzten 20 Jahre hat Kookoon sich immer wieder mit Sehnsuchtsorten und Ausnahmezuständen beschäftigt. Waren High Wire und Magnetic Moon meditativ, dem Schweben, der Balance und der magischen Anziehungskraft gewidmet, Inner Earth eine experimentelle Erkundung und Collage Erd-eigenen Klänge, ist sein neues Album „Nightfall“ deutlich konkreter und urban verortet.

Nightfall meint die blaue Stunde, in der der Tag sich dem Ende zuneigt und die Nacht noch nicht begonnen hat, die Zeit zwischen Dämmerung und Dunkelheit. Es ist eine geheimnisvoll verzauberte Zeit des Übergangs, eine Zeit zwischen Sehnsucht und Vergessen, eine Zeit in der Wirklichkeit und Möglichkeit sich begegnen , eine Zeit suggestiver Kraft.

Kookoon ist fasziniert von dieser „Abtastlücke“, dieser Zeit vager Konturen, die Raum lassen für Imagination und Träume, für eine unendliche Vielzahl von Schattierungen. Nie könnte er sagen, dass etwas oder jemand ihn beeinflusst, es ist immer das Spannungsfeld, das ihn reizt und fasziniert. Daneben ist Nightfall eine Reminiszenz an Kalifornien, dessen Küstenstreifen ein faszinierendes Spannungsfeld zwischen Urbanität, Natur und Mythologie bildet, mit einer Metropole wie LA, die extrem großstädtisch, direkt am offenen Meer liegend, eingebunden in eine gigantischen Naturkulisse mit schneebedeckten Bergen und Wüsten im Hinterland Titel wie Topanga, Redondo und Pierview inspiriert hat.

Im Gegensatz zu den Titeln auf High Wire und Magnetic Moon, die von kleinteiligen, fast minimalistischen Strukturen bestimmt waren, beschäftigt Kookoon sich auf Nightfall mit der großen Form, ausladenden Bögen und Entwicklungen. Dazu gehören live Instrumente, anders als bei den Vorgängern sind die Schlagzeugtracks live eingespielt von Max Bendel, weitere Gäste sind der Gitarrist Michael Rodach, Trompeter Paul Brody und der amerikanische Vibraphonist David Friedman.

Nightfall ist ein Soundtrack für die Zwischenzeit, getränkt in tiefes Blau, die Farbe des Meers und des Himmels, der Weite und Ferne, der Sehnsucht und des Unerreichbaren. Ein Ort, an dem das Suchen um vieles lustvoller als das Finden ist.



[nach oben] [zurück]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home