all news
all artists
all releases
all events



traumton.radio
   Florian Favre Trio: On A Smiling Gust Of Wind: Release Information

[Tracks]   [Info]   [Media Resources]    [Order CD]



Release Date: 03.11.2017 CH
EAN/UPC: 705304465523
TT Catalogue No: 4655

Florian Favre Trio - On a Smiling Gust of Wind

Right from the start the press in both Switzerland and Germany was in agreement: pianist Florian Favre is inventive and charming, highly talented and artistically willful. Born and raised in Fribourg in western Switzerland, Favre first studied piano and then composition in Bern, where he also founded his trio in 2011. In 2013 bassist Manu Hagmann joined the group and on drums there was another change prior to the latest album - but more on that later. As the sole composer, Favre, now 31 years old, carries the greatest part of artistic responsibility, even though he always leaves a lot of space for his partners. Favre’s pieces have thus far been characterized by “colorful harmonies” (Jazz Thing) and an open mind, their melodies often charged with rhythmic sophistication and spontaneous interactions that increase the intensity even more. Various awards, like the 1st prize at the International Jazzhaus Piano Competition 2012 in Freiburg im Breisgau, attest Florian Favre’s quality. Colleagues value him as a brilliant and equally pleasant fellow player.

A lot has happened since the widely acclaimed album Ur, which was released in April 2016. The trio celebrated great successes at festivals (including Amersfoort Jazz (Netherlands), Jazz à Vienne (France), Palatia Jazz and Ethno Jazz Festival Dushanbe (Tajikistan)), they can enjoy priority sponsorship by Pro Helvetia until 2019 and they won the B-Jazz International Contest as part of the Leuven Jazz Festival in Belgium. Favre himself was honored with a scholarship, which will bring him to New Orleans and New York to compose a piece for jazz trio and orchestra.
But before, Florian Favre presents the next work of his sophisticated trio, without any guest features or electronic flavor enhancers. The title On a Smiling Gust of Wind already signalizes airy, positive moods. “I have the feeling, the band was truly flying during this recording,” Favre explains, “and that we played in an easy, relaxed and sincere manner; just as if a gust was giving us tailwind.”
Already on the previous album Ur, there was an understated easiness, but it is even more present and catchy now. Besides Favre’s radiant playing, inspired also by European Classical music, a deliberate, compositional clarity is the second pervasive characteristic. In comparison to earlier productions, he placed greater value on spontaneous inspirations, Favre says, and accepting emotions and simple ideas without abstracting them too strongly. To him it’s about an unpretentious beauty that he himself hears and feels in soulful and uplifting music. Not designed as a counter model to intellectually loaded constructs, but rather as a consciously alive expression. The trust in his own instinct might also have to do with Favre’s personal happiness. Why should only pop musicians be allowed to express the euphoria of new love in elevating songs?

Humor is part of Favre’s nature anyway, just like a subtle way of playing around with different influences. The awareness for sound of Ravel and Stravinsky fascinates him just as much as the vigorous emphasis of rock bands and electronic sounds. Favre only employs the latter in other projects; in this respect he explicitly separates. What he doesn’t like at all is the artistic ivory tower. Communication within the band and with the audience is important to Favre. On stage he always appears responsive to both and avoids bold gestures or even superficial borrowing. That’s also why Favre’s music seems so focused - now probably more than ever before.

At the age of 8 Florian Favre began taking Classical piano lessons; four years later he discovered blues scales and soon after, jazz music. At the conservatory in Fribourg he graduated with 21 and everything else developed in Bern. In 2008 he founded the quartet Help!, in 2012 he was on the road with the song-poet Stephan Eicher and the spoken poetry artist and author Kutti MC, alias Jürg Halter. After completing his piano masters degree (studying with Django Bates among others) Favre stayed in New York for a while. His skill impressed even prominent colleagues. Joshua Redman once asked Favre on stage after the Swiss had opened a show for the saxophone star. Redman’s announcement: “He has something really, really special that blew us all away.”

Bassist Manu Hagmann also studied in Bern and already has a multifarious musical history. In 2007 he won the contest Tremplin Lémanique of the Montreux Jazz Festival with his quartet the time, Red Planet. Further awards followed, for example with the Jean-Lou Treboux Group at the Stanser Musiktage 2011 [Stans Music Days] and with the band Orioxy, with the harpist Julie Campiche. In 2013 Orioxy was awarded the “Grand Prix” of the Avignon International Jazz Competition. With both projects Hagmann recorded two albums each, played at festivals and in many European countries.

Now we can present the new drummer of the band: Arthur Alard, 28 years old, from Paris. They met at the aforementioned B-Jazz Contest, where Alard performed with Laurent Coulondre. “There was a jam session after the contest, where Manu and Arthur played together for the first time. This worked out great right away. Later we needed a drummer for a Belgium tour and I asked Arthur, without ever having played with him myself. He came and had learned all the pieces by heart from the record and in the first concert already, he understood at any time where I want to go.” Favre downright raves about the new third man: Alard masters many styles, is well versed in various genres, serves the music and melts together with the band sound. How perfectly the communication works within the band is revealed in one example. “I wrote the piece ‘Nanomélie’ in the night before the last studio day. When we had finished recording everything, I put down the sheet music in front of the guys and we only played four takes.” Favre is glad that this piece also made it onto the record, because in his eyes it is symbolic for simplicity and “hopeful music”.

“The new album sounds like me more than ever,” Florian Favre sums up. “It reflects character traits that my friends know of me, but others may not.” Furthermore, the pianist finds that the pieces have a strong relation to each other. Indeed, On a Smiling Gust of Wind appears cohesive and round, accessible and entertaining in a subtle way: jazz with its finger on the pulse of time, with a strong personal note and a great potential of making many friends, also outside of the jazz circle.



[top] [back]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home

Alle News
Alle Künstler
Alle CDs
Alle Tourdaten



traumton.radio
   Florian Favre Trio: On A Smiling Gust Of Wind: Release-Informationen

[Tracks]   [Infos]    [Pressematerial]   [CD bestellen]



VÖ: 03.11.2017 CH
EAN/UPC: 705304465523
Traumton CD: 4655

FLORIAN FAVRE TRIO

On A Smiling Gust Of Wind

Die Presse in der Schweiz und Deutschland war sich schon früh einig: Pianist Florian Favre ist originell und charmant, hochtalentiert und künstlerisch eigenwillig. Geboren und aufgewachsen Im westschweizerischen Fribourg, hat Favre in Bern zunächst Klavier, dann Komposition studiert und dort auch 2011 sein Trio gegründet. 2013 kam Bassist Manu Hagmann dazu, hinterm Schlagzeug gab es für das jüngste Album mal wieder einen Wechsel. Doch dazu später mehr. Als alleiniger Komponist trägt Favre, inzwischen 31 Jahre alt, den größten Teil der künstlerischen Verantwortung, wenngleich er von je her Raum für seine Partner lässt. Favres Stücke zeichneten sich bislang durch „farbenprächtige Harmonik“ (Jazz Thing) und einen offenen Geist aus, ihre Melodien waren häufig mit rhythmischer Raffinesse und spontanen Interaktionen aufgeladen, was die Intensität noch verdichtete. Diverse Auszeichnungen, etwa der 1. Preis der International Jazzhaus Piano Competition 2012 in Freiburg i. Br., belegen die Qualität Florian Favres. Kollegen schätzen ihn als ebenso brillanten wie angenehmen Mitspieler.

Seit dem weithin gelobten Album Ur, das im April 2016 erschien, ist viel passiert. Das Trio feierte bei Festivals Erfolge (u.a. Amersfoort Jazz (NL), Jazz à Vienne (Frankreich), Palatia Jazz, Ethno Jazz Festival Dushanbe (Tadschikistan)), genießt bis 2019 prioritäre Förderung von Pro Helvetia und gewann den B-Jazz International Contest im Rahmen des Leuven Jazz Festivals in Belgien. Favre selbst wurde mit einem Stipendium ausgezeichnet, dass ihn nach New Orleans und New York bringen wird, unter anderem um ein Stück für Jazz Trio und Orchester zu komponieren.
Vorher präsentiert Florian Favre nun das nächste Werk seines feinsinnigen Trios, ganz ohne Gäste und elektronische Geschmacksverstärker. Schon der Titel On A Smiling Gust Of Wind signalisiert luftige, positive Stimmungen. „Ich habe das Gefühl, dass die Band während der Aufnahmen richtig geflogen ist“, erklärt Favre, „dass wir leicht, unverkrampft und ehrlich gespielt haben. Eben so, als ob uns eine Böe Rückenwind gegeben hätte.“

Eine unaufdringliche Leichtigkeit zog sich bereits durch den Vorgänger Ur, ist aber nun noch präsenter und prägnanter. Neben Favres strahlendem, unter anderem von europäischer Klassik inspiriertem Spiel ist eine absichtsvolle kompositorische Klarheit der zweite rote Faden. Im Vergleich zu früheren Produktionen habe er noch mehr Wert auf spontane Eingebungen gelegt, sagt Favre, Emotionen und einfache Ideen zugelassen, sie weniger stark abstrahiert. Es geht ihm um eine unprätentiöse Schönheit, die er selbst in beseelter Musik (er benutzt die englischen Begriffe „soulful“ und „uplifting“) hört und spürt. Nicht als geplantes Gegenmodell zu intellektuell aufgeladenen Konstrukten, sondern vielmehr als ein bewusst lebendiger Ausdruck. Das Vertrauen auf das eigene Bauchgefühl mag auch mit Favres privatem Glück zu tun haben. Warum sollten nur Pop-Musiker die Euphorie einer neuen Liebe in erhebende Songs fassen dürfen?

Humor gehört ohnehin zu Favres Naturell, ebenso ein subtiles Spiel mit verschiedenen Einflüssen. Das Klangbewusstsein von Ravel und Strawinsky begeistert ihn ebenso wie die energische Emphase von Rockbands oder elektronische Sounds. Letztere setzt er aber bei anderen Projekten ein, in dieser Hinsicht weiß Favre klar zu trennen. Was ihm gar nicht liegt, ist der künstlerische Elfenbeinturm. Kommunikation in der Band und mit dem Publikum sind Favre wichtig. Auf der Bühne wirkt er stets beiden zugewandt und vermeidet dabei plakative Gesten oder gar vordergründige Anlehnungen. Auch deswegen erscheint Favres Musik fokussiert, heute wahrscheinlich mehr als jemals zuvor.

Mit acht begann Florian Favre, klassischen Klavierunterricht zu nehmen, vier Jahre später entdeckte er Blues-Skalen und bald darauf den Jazz. Am Konservatorium in Fribourg machte er mit 21 sein Diplom, alles weitere entwickelte sich in Bern. 2008 gründete er das Quartett Help!, 2012 war er mit dem Songpoeten Stephan Eicher und dem Spoken Poetry-Künstler und Autor Kutti MC alias Jürg Halter unterwegs. Nach Abschluss seines Klavier-Masters (unter anderem bei Django Bates) hielt sich Favre eine Weile in New York auf. Sein Können beeindruckte dort selbst prominente Kollegen. So wurde Favre einmal von Joshua Redman auf die Bühne gebeten, nachdem der Schweizer das Konzert des Saxophon-Stars eröffnet hatte. Redmans Ansage: „He has something really, really special that blew us all away.”

Bassist Manu Hagman hat ebenfalls in Bern studiert und bereits eine vielfältige musikalische Geschichte. 2007 gewann er mit seinem damaligen Quartett Red Planet den Wettbewerb „Tremplin Lémanique“ des Montreux Jazz Festivals. Weitere Auszeichnungen folgten, etwa mit der Jean-Lou Treboux Group bei den Stanser Musiktagen 2011 und mit der Band Orioxy, zu der neben anderen die Harfenistin Julie Campiche gehört. 2013 erhielt Orioxy den „Grand Prix“ der Avignon International Jazz Competition. Mit beiden Projekten nahm Hagmann jeweils zwei Alben auf, spielte bei Festivals und in mehreren europäischen Ländern.

Nun können wir den neuen Drummer der Band vorstellen: Arthur Alard, 28, aus Paris. Kennengelernt haben sie sich beim besagten B-Jazz Contest, wo Alard mit Laurent Coulondre auftrat. „Nach dem Wettbewerb gab es eine Jamsession, bei der Manu und Arthur erstmals zusammen spielten. Das hat sofort super funktioniert. Später brauchten wir einen Schlagzeuger für eine Belgien-Tour und ich fragte Arthur, ohne selbst je mit ihm gespielt zu haben. Er kam, hatte alle Stücke von der Platte auswendig gelernt und schon im ersten Konzert jederzeit verstanden, wohin ich gehen will.“ Favre schwärmt geradezu vom neuen dritten Mann. Alard beherrsche viele Stile, kenne sich in diversen Genre aus, diene dem Stück und verschmelze mit dem Bandsound. Wie perfekt die Verständigung in der Band klappt, macht er an einem Beispiel deutlich. „Das Stück Nanomélie habe ich in der Nacht vor dem letzten Studiotag komponiert. Als wir alles andere im Kasten hatten, legte ich den Jungs die Noten vor und wir haben nur vier Takes eingespielt.“ Favre freut sich, dass auch dieses Stück auf der Platte ist, weil es aus seiner Sicht symbolisch für Einfachheit und „hoffnungsvolle Musik“ steht.

„Das neue Album klingt mehr denn je nach mir“, resümiert Florian Favre. „Es spiegelt Charakterzüge wider, die meine Freunde von mir kennen, andere vielleicht noch nicht.“ Zudem findet der Schweizer, dass die Stücke einen starken Bezug zueinander haben. Tatsächlich wirkt On A Smiling Gust Of Wind geschlossen und rund, zugänglich und auf subtile Art unterhaltsam. Jazz am Puls der Zeit, mit starker persönlicher Note und einem großen Potential, auch außerhalb des Jazzzirkels viele Freunde zu gewinnen.



[nach oben] [zurück]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home