all news
all artists
all releases
all events



traumton.radio
   Other Animal: Other Animal: Release Information

[Tracks]   [Info]   [Media Resources]    [Order CD]



Release Date: 02.02.2018
EAN/UPC: 705304466124
TT Catalogue No: 4661


Other Animal -

A new formation with old friends, a particular sound with familiar vignettes: Other Animal plays “alternative prog-jazz”. The newest project of Bernhard and Peter Meyer, who take the key roles as composers and producers in this quartet, unites players from Berlin and New York who harmonize perfectly together and inspire each other. The Meyer brothers are best known for their highly acclaimed Melt Trio. With their distinct music and sophisticated stylistics on semi-acoustic bass and electric guitar, they have been contributing to the Berlin-specific jazz sound for years. Beside the already beaten paths of the genre, they fuse elements of improvised and new music, independent-rock and ambient sounds and show how jazz can sound in the present and the future. “Also on their third album, the Melt Trio again plays in a league of its own,” Jazzpodium summarizes and places Peter Meyer among the international ranks of the generation Marc Ribot, Jacob Bro and Marc Ducret. The magazine Rondo labels the trio as “one of the most stunning of the current jazz scene.” As a trio they have always enthralled listeners with their CDs and countless concerts and in addition, they explored other constellations - sometimes together, sometimes separately. For instance with the Norwegian electronica artist and live-remixer Jan Bang, the drum charismatics John Hollenbeck and Nasheet Waits, the exceptional singer Theo Bleckmann and the Portuguese double-bass original Carlos Bica.

The Meyer brothers had also worked with Jim Black in the past. Born in 1967 in Seattle, Black studied at Berklee College, then moved to New York and ever since, has been enhancing many projects with his distinctive playing. On the one hand in his own formations, such as the post-rock jazz quartet AlasNoAxis with Chris Speed, the Balkan-oriented Band Pachora, as well as Human Feel, with Speed, Kurt Rosenwinkel and Andrew D’Angelo. Furthermore, Black recorded a handful of albums alongside Dave Douglas and Uri Caine, also for the BBC with Tim Berne and Nels Cline, with Dave Liebman, Steve Coleman, Laurie Anderson and many more.

During the same time as these sessions with Jim Black, the Meyers had initiated collaboration with Wanja Slavin. The saxophonist, born 1982 in Freiburg and based in Berlin since 2005, received a Jazz-Echo award in 2014 for the album Starlight, whichhe recorded with Petter Eldh and Christian Lillinger. Most recently Slavin attracted attention in the quartet Amok Amor (Eldh, Lillinger, Peter Evans), for instance at the Moers Festival 2016, London Jazz Festival and Jazzdor Straßburg. Moreover, he has played with Kenny Wheeler, Médéric Collignon, John Schröder, Joachim Kühn, Alexander von Schlippenbach and others.
It was only a matter of time, until these award-winning individualists would unite to form a quartet. In November 2016 the band went to the legendary Funkhaus-Studio in the east of Berlin. The takes were so successful that thoughts about cutting and editing never came up. Merely a few overdubs were added, like guitar layers and electronic effects from Peter Meyer and flute and synthesizer from Wanja Slavin, to give the sound more depth here and there.

With only one exception, Bernhard and Peter Meyer wrote all pieces on Other Animal specifically for this quartet. “We wanted to give the musicians something where they could fully unfold their magic. Jim masters an enormous variety of grooves, so of course we also worked with that.” Consequentially the tempos of the pieces are very diverse and reach from almost Nordic seeming calmness all the way to crescendos with metropolitan verve. Black’s intuitive, free and yet very pointed playing with dynamic and forceful entrances also exhibits a pronounced sense for sound, which again harmonizes perfectly with the Meyer brothers’ sound awareness, their arcs of suspense and their energy made up of both transparent-airy and powerful dense passages. Wanja Slavin brings a sometimes fragile, sometimes rough beauty into the band. Inspired by the revolutionary expressiveness of John Coltrane and Ornette Coleman, Slavin can captivate with sensitive as well as forcefully gripping sounds; some facets of his playing are reminiscent of new music and electronic music.

Thanks to Slavin, Peter Meyer’s role in this quartet is a little different than usual. “With the Melt Trio I’m always the soloist, kind of like the singer of the band. In Other Animal I can concentrate on creating specific tonal colors from time to time. Just like guitarist Meyer, Slavin evidently also thinks in structures and textures. Both focus on atmospheric, sharply detailed soundscapes instead of the traditional “faster, higher, further”-competition. Thus they interlock like zippers’ teeth - not only in parallel passages. Or they seem like a tree, whose shoots sprout into different directions.

A constant quality of Other Animal, is the compositional modernity of both Meyers, which is guided by their own listening habits. The two early thirtysomethings are not only influenced by the sound of certain jazz greats like Bill Frisell, Keith Jarrett (especially the quartets with Haden, Motian, Redman or Garbarek), Marc Ribot and Terje Rypdal, but also by rock experimenters like Radiohead, James Blake and the Notwist. Exemplarily they mention their piece Nongeniality; a melody that could come from Charlie Parker, but is turned and twisted through the indie-rock filter. To the Meyer brothers the form of the songs is at least as important, as melodic themes and solos. By that, they mean the sequence of parts, arcs of suspense and instrumentation. In these aspects McCoy Tyner and Brad Mehldau are just as much inspirational sources as Weather Report and Grizzly Bear.

Above all else is the band’s motto formulating what is best for the music: playing consciously and intuitively, leaving out the irrelevant and standing above vanity and self-display. The title Other Animal represents the unknown and the new, Bernhard and Peter Meyer explain. A band is an organism, which breathes and pulsates. It needs to communicate and be kept alive to amaze with different motions, timbres and developments again and again. In this sense, Other Animal is a very special, charismatic species.



[top] [back]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home

Alle News
Alle Künstler
Alle CDs
Alle Tourdaten



traumton.radio
   Other Animal: Other Animal: Release-Informationen

[Tracks]   [Infos]    [Pressematerial]   [CD bestellen]



VÖ: 02.02.2018
EAN/UPC: 705304466124
Traumton CD: 4661


Other Animal -
Meyer, Slawin, Meyer, Black

Eine neue Formation mit guten Bekannten, ein spezieller Sound mit vertrauten Vignetten: Other Animal spielt „alternative prog-jazz“. Das jüngste Projekt von Bernhard und Peter Meyer, die als Komponisten und Produzenten die Schlüsselrollen im Quartett einnehmen, vereint Persönlichkeiten aus Berlin und New York, die perfekt miteinander harmonieren und sich gegenseitig beflügeln. Die Brüder Meyer kennt man vor allem aus dem  gefeierten Melt Trio. Seit Jahren tragen sie mit ihrer eigenständigen Musik und ihrer differenzierten Stilistik auf Halbresonanz-Bass und E-Gitarre einen großen Teil zum spezifischen Jazz-Sound Berlins bei. Abseits ausgetretener Wege fusionieren sie Elemente aus improvisierter und Neuer Musik, Independent-Rock und Ambient und zeigen, wie Jazz in Gegenwart und Zukunft klingen kann. „Das Melt Trio spielt auch auf seinem dritten Album wieder in einer ganz eigenen Liga“, resümierte das Jazzpodium und reihte Peter Meyer in die internationale Riege der Generation Marc Ribot, Jacob Bro und Marc Ducret ein. Rondo befand, das Trio „dürfte eines der verblüffendsten innerhalb der aktuellen Jazz-Szene sein.“ Auf CDs und in unzähligen Konzerten haben sie bislang begeistert, darüber hinaus mal gemeinsam, mal einzeln andere Konstellationen ausgelotet. Etwa mit dem norwegischen Elektroniker und Live-Remixer Jan Bang, den Schlagzeug-Charismatikern John Hollenbeck und Nasheet Waits, dem Ausnahme-Sänger Theo Bleckmann und dem portugiesischen Kontrabass-Original Carlos Bica.

Schon früher haben die Meyer-Brüder auch mit Jim Black gearbeitet. 1967 in Seattle geboren, hat Black am Berklee College studiert, zog dann nach New York und bereicherte seitdem viele Projekte mit seinem markanten Spiel. In eigenen Formationen wie dem Postrock-Jazz-Quartett AlasNoAxis u.a. mit Chris Speed, der Richtung Balkan blickende Band Pachora sowie Human Feel mit Speed, Kurt Rosenwinkel und Andrew D'Angelo. Darüber hinaus spielte Black je eine Handvoll Alben an der Seite von Dave Douglas und Uri Caine ein, außerdem bei BBC mit Tim Berne und Nels Cline, mit Dave Liebman, Steve Coleman, Laurie Anderson und vielen mehr.

Parallel zu den Sessions mit Jim Black hatten die Meyers eine Kooperation mit Wanja Slavin initiiert. Der Saxophonist, 1982 in Freiburg geboren und seit 2005 in Berlin zuhause, erhielt 2014 für das mit Petter Eldh und Christian Lillinger aufgenommene Album Starlight einen Jazz-Echo. Zuletzt sorgte Slavin im Quartett Amok Amor (Eldh, Lillinger, Peter Evans) für Aufmerksamkeit, unter anderem beim Moers Festival 2016, London Jazz Festival und Jazzdor Straßburg. Darüber hinaus spielte er mit Kenny Wheeler, Médéric Collignon, John Schröder, Joachim Kühn, Alexander von Schlippenbach u.a.

Es war nur noch eine Frage der Zeit, bis sich die preisgekrönten Individualisten zu einem Quartett vereinen würden. Im November 2016 ging die Band ins legendäre Funkhaus-Studio im Osten Berlins. Die Takes gelangen so perfekt, dass keine Gedanken an  Schnitte aufkamen. Ergänzt wurden sie lediglich von einigen Overdubs, etwa Gitarren-Schichten und elektronische Effekte von Peter Meyer, Querflöte oder Synthesizer von Wanja Slavin, um dem Klangbild punktuell mehr Tiefe zu geben.  

Von einer Ausnahme abgesehen, haben Bernhard und Peter Meyer sämtliche Stücke auf Other Animal speziell für dieses Quartett geschrieben. „Wir wollten den Musikern etwas geben, bei dem sie ihre Magie am besten entfalten können. Jim verfügt über eine enorme Vielfalt an Grooves, also haben wir natürlich auch damit gearbeitet.“ Entsprechend unterschiedlich sind die Tempi der Stücke, sie reichen von fast nordisch anmutender Ruhe bis zu Crescendi in großstädtischer Rasanz. Blacks intuitives, freies und dabei sehr pointiertes Spiel mit dynamischen und druckvollen Einsätzen zeigt auch ein ausgeprägtes Gespür für Sounds. Was wiederum perfekt mit dem Klangbewusstsein der Brüder Meyer harmoniert, ihren Spannungs- und Energiebögen aus transparent-luftigen und kraftvoll verdichteten Passagen. Wanja Slavin bringt eine mal fragile, mal raue Schönheit mit in die Band. Inspiriert von der revolutionären Expressivität John Coltranes und Ornette Colemans, weiß Slavin mit feinnervigen und entschlossen zupackenden Tönen zu fesseln; manche Facetten seines Spiels lassen auch an Einflüsse aus Neuer und elektronischer Musik denken.

Nicht zuletzt dank Slavin ist Peter Meyers Rolle in diesem Quartett etwas anders als gewohnt. „Beim Melt Trio bin ich immer Solist, gewissermaßen der Sänger der Band. In Other Animal kann ich mich zwischendurch drauf konzentrieren, gezielt Klangfarben zu setzen.“ Wie Gitarrist Meyer denkt auch Slavin bei seinen nuancierten Saxophon-Soli klar erkennbar in Strukturen und Texturen. Beiden geht es um atmosphärische, detailscharfe Soundscapes statt des traditionellen „schneller, höher, weiter“-Wettkampfs. So verzahnen sie sich, nicht nur in parallelen Läufen, wie ein Reißverschluss. Oder erscheinen wie ein Baum, dessen Triebe in verschiedene Richtungen sprießen. 

Eine Konstante bei Other Animal ist die kompositorische Modernität der beiden Meyers,  die sich an den eigenen Hörgewohnheiten orientiert. Die beiden Anfang-Dreißiger sind eben nicht nur vom Klang bestimmter Jazz-Größen wie Bill Frisell, Keith Jarrett (speziell die Quartette mit Haden, Motian, Redman oder Garbarek), Marc Ribot und Terje Rypdal, sondern auch von Rock-Vordenkern wie Radiohead, James Blake und The Notwist beeinflusst. Exemplarisch nennen sie ihr Stück Nongeniality. Eine Melodie, die von Charlie Parker stammen könnte, die aber durch den Indie-Rock-Filter gedreht und gewendet wird. Mindestens ebenso wichtig wie melodische Themen und Soli ist ihnen die Form der Songs, halten die Brüder Meyer fest. Damit gemeint sind Abläufe, Spannungsbögen und Rollenverteilung. Unter diesen Aspekten werden McCoy Tyner und Brad Mehldau für Peter Meyer ebenso zu Inspirationsquellen wie Weather Report und Grizzly Bear.

Über allem steht die von der Band formulierte Devise, was das beste für die Musik ist. Bewusst und intuitiv zu spielen, unwichtiges wegzulassen, über Eitelkeiten und Selbstdarstellung zu stehen. Der Titel Other Animal steht für das Unbekannte und Neue, erklären Bernhard und Peter Meyer. Eine Band ist ein Organismus, der atmet und pulsiert, der kommunizieren und am Leben gehalten werden will. Um dann durch immer wieder andere Bewegungen, Klangfarben und Entwicklungen zu verblüffen. In diesem Sinn ist Other Animal eine ganz besondere, charismatische Spezies. 



[nach oben] [zurück]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home