all news
all artists
all releases
all events



traumton.radio
  

Tuomi



Releases:

The Expense Of Spirit     (23.03.2007)
Tight-Rope-Walker     (15.02.2005)

Genre: Jazz, Vocal
Web: http://www.kristiinatuomi.com
MySpace: https://www.facebook.com/kristiina.tuomi.5
E-Mail: kristiinatuomi@gmx.de
Booking: http://www.shoestring-jazz.de

Huge is the boom Scandinavian singers have triggered in the past few years. Rebekka Bakken, Kari Bremnes, Rigmor Gustafsson or Cæcilie Norby ­ Names like these are currently luring German jazz audiences into music halls and record stores, zealously forming a new definition of contemporary ³Euro-Jazz² and effortlessly cutting its umbilical cord from the US schools. Until now the Finnish faction has been conspicuously missing on this new top team of noble Nordic voices. Kristiina Tuomi presents herself as an exciting and original vocalist who puts Finland on the map of modern jazz song-writing ­ and this with trans-European flair and poetry from Poe to Shakespeare.

Hardly any other jazz vocalist release has met with such unanimous enthusiasm from music journalists, features, and reviews as Tuomi's debut, "Tightrope Walker". Its successor, "The Expense of Spirit", release 3/2007, once again proves the trio's utter fearlessness of heights, with an artistic and playfully light concoction of jazzy pop, Shakespeare-inspired lyrical songs and southern harmonies. Kristina Tuomi's natural soprano is confident and competent as it enters dialogue with Carsten Daerr's brilliant piano playing and Carlos Bica's singing contrabass. The result is a wealth of lyrically refined songs full of transparency, songs that challenge, seduce and fascinate their listeners.


TUOMI - When The Angels Fall





News

02.10.2009     Tuomi Touring with Goethe - Podcast #32

Jazz - TUOMI - Shakespeare and Rilke touring East Africa
Author: Henning Sieverts, Speaker: David Creedon
Translated by Paul McCarthy

01.10.2009    

TUOMI - Touring with Goethe

Concerts, Workshops
5 to 16 October 2009
Johannesburg, Antananarivo, Dar es Salaam, Maputo

The Trio TUOMI, comprising alto singer, piano and double bass, is one of the most remarkable products of the great Berlin jazz melting pot.
German-Finnish vocalist Kristiina Tuomi and pianist Carsten Daerr first started setting Shakespeare sonnets to music while studying jazz together in Berlin. Portuguese bassist and Berlin transplant Carlos Bica, who has been making quite a splash for some time now with his band Azul, then completed the trio.
Their debut album Tightrope Walker, already acclaimed in insider circles, was followed in 2007 by the CD "Th‘ Expense of Spirit", which proved once and for all that TUOMI is not about putting on song recitals with accompaniment, but a congenial trio at work, with a unique blend of Scandinavian folk, jazzy pop, Shakespeare-inspired art song and Mediterranean Saudade.
” TUOMI enthrals listeners,” raved one radio reviewer under the spell of their latest album. Audiences south of the Equator will be likewise spellbound by their upcoming Africa tour.

More info: www.goethe.de

19.03.2007    

Tuomi

The Expense of Spirit

Tonspion, Germany's leading mp3-magazin states "Highest Eleganz"
Tonspion, 16.3.2007





[top] [back]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home

Alle News
Alle Künstler
Alle CDs
Alle Tourdaten



Traumton Radio
  

Tuomi



CDs:

The Expense Of Spirit   (23.03.2007)
Tight-Rope-Walker   (15.02.2005)

Genre: Jazz, Vocal
Web: http://www.kristiinatuomi.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kristiina.tuomi.5
E-Mail: kristiinatuomi@gmx.de
Booking: http://www.shoestring-jazz.de

Immens ist der Boom, den skandinavische Sängerinnen in den letzten Jahren ausgelöst haben. Rebekka Bakken, Kari Bremnes, Rigmor Gustafsson oder Cæcilie Norby ­ Namen wie diese locken das deutsche Jazzpublikum derzeit in die Säle und Plattenläden, formen eifrig eine Neudefinition des zeitgenössischen Euro-Jazz¹, der sich von den US-Schulen mühelos abgenabelt hat. Auffällig hierbei: Eine Finnin fehlte bislang in der ersten Riege der noblen Nordstimmen. Mit Kristiina Tuomi stellt sich nun eine aufregende und eigensinnige Vokalistin vor, die Finnland auf der Landkarte des modernen Jazz-Songwritings platziert ­ und dies mit transeuropäischer Unterstützung sowie Poesie von Poe bis Shakespeare.

Kaum eine Vocaljazz-Veröffentlichung stieß im Feuilleton und der Fachpresse auf so einhellige Begeisterung wie Tuomis Debüt „Tightrope Walker“. Auch auf dem Nachfolger „The Expense Of Spirit“, VÖ 3/2007, erweist sich das Trio bei seiner kunstvollen wie spielerisch leichten Verquickung von jazz-affinem Pop, Shakespeare-inspiriertem Kunstlied und südländischer Harmonik als schwindelfrei: Souverän tritt der natürliche Sopran von Kristiina Tuomi mit Carsten Daerrs leuchtendem Klavierspiel und Carlos Bicas singendem Kontrabass in Dialog und lässt Lieder voller Transparenz und lyrischer Feinheiten entstehen, die den Zuhörer fordern, verführen und faszinieren.


TUOMI - When The Angels Fall




News

02.10.2009     Tuomi Touring with Goethe - Podcast #32

Jazz - TUOMI - Shakespeare and Rilke touring East Africa
Author: Henning Sieverts, Speaker: David Creedon
Translated by Paul McCarthy

01.10.2009    

TUOMI - Touring with Goethe

Konzerte, Workshops
5. bis 16. Oktober 2009
Johannesburg, Antananarivo, Dar es Salaam, Maputo

Das Trio TUOMI in seiner Besetzung Altstimme, Klavier und Kontrabass ist eines der bemerkenswerteren Produkte des großen Berliner Jazz-Schmelztiegels.
Zunächst begannen die Deutsch-Finnin Kristiina Tuomi und der Pianist Carsten Daerr während ihres Jazzstudiums in Berlin, gemeinsam Shakespeare-Sonette zu vertonen. Der portugiesische Wahlberliner Carlos Bica der seit langem mit seiner Band „Azul“ für Furore sorgt, machte das Trio dann komplett.
Dem in der Fachwelt bereits gefeierten Debütalbum Tightrope Walker folgte 2007 die CD "Th‘ Expense of Spirit", mit der TUOMI endgültig unter Beweis stellte, dass es hier nicht um einen Liederabend mit Begleitung geht. Stattdessen ist ein kongeniales Trio am Werk, mit einer einzigartigen Mischung von skandinavischem Folk, jazz-affinem Pop, Shakespeare-inspiriertem Kunstlied und südländischer Saudade.
„ TUOMI verzaubert die Zuhörer“, schwärmte ein Radiokritiker unter dem Eindruck des letzten Albums. Auf der anstehenden Afrikatournee soll nun der Beweis geführt werden, dass dies auch für das Publikum südlich des Äquators gilt.

Info: www.goethe.de

07.06.2007    

Tuomi

Tuomi's aktuelles Album The Expense Of Spirit läuft im Juni und Juli im Bordprogramm der Lufthansa. Wer später verreist oder mit einer anderen Airline unterwegs ist kann die CD natürlich auch bei uns bestellen oder im gutsortierten Plattenhandel erwerben.



19.03.2007    

Tuomi

The Expense of Spirit

"Höchste Eleganz"
Tonspion, 16.3.2007



14.06.2006     TUOMI

Zur Zeit im Studio sind TUOMI, die Sängerin Kristiina Tuom, Pianist Carsten Daer und Kontrabassist Carlos Bica. Die Veröffentlichung ihres zweiten Albums und eine Record Release Tour sind für Februar 2007 in Planung.

27.01.2006    

Tuomi
Jazzzeitung Scheibenjury Januar: Platz 1: Wolfgang Muthspiel Trio „Bright Side“ (material records), 2: Ketil Björnstad „Floating“ (Universal), 3: Tuomi „Tightrope Walker“ (Traumton/Indigo), 4: Uri Caine „Bedrock“ (Winter), 5: Solveig Slettahjell Quintet „Pixiedust“(ACT), 6: Rainer Tempel „Eleven“ (Rodenstein) und 7: Tom Gäbel „Introducing Myself“ (Edel)
mehr -> Jazzzeitung

28.02.2005    



[nach oben] [zurück]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home