all news
all artists
all releases
all events



traumton.radio
   Patty Moon: Clouds Inside: Release Information

[Tracks]   [Info]   [Press]   [Media Resources]    [Order CD]



Release Date: 15.10.2004
EAN/UPC: 705304515426
TT Catalogue No: 4476

clouds inside" – the title of Patty Moon’s debut album is a strangely graceful metaphor which automatically raises questions like: What kind of clouds? The ones that darken the sky to announce threatening storms? Ones that pass over like a fleeting thought? Ones that majestically and gracefully reside in the heavens at the side of the Sun King? Or are they feathery dream pillows you can float away on in reverie?

The musical rendezvous between Patty Moon and composer Tobias Schwab began in 1998. She composes, sings, writes lyrics. He arranges, produces, polishes. Home studio, night after night. Sampling of nerves. A lot of her songs are “just there”, says Patty. Lyrics and music: moments suddenly captured or, as she calls them, “living room impressions”, that move from the inside to the out.

The symbiosis between Patty’s very own melodies and harmonies and Tobias Schwab’s sound obsession is what the two of them call „their music“. And it is an adventurous cosmos of sound that ranges from analogue crackling all the way to opulent orchestral arrangements. Extensive harmonic excursions transport emotions and longing in “Second winter”, and return to the facts of reality in “Horses getting weak”. The 6–minute opus “Humming”, an indulgence in absent-minded daydreaming, builds up a bursting suspense with only two chords. The alienation in your own train of thoughts in “Stop and Go” sounds like the soundtrack to a futuristic Italian western. Above it all, is the voice of Patty moon.

Bewitchingly bundled emotions, warm and earthy from time to time - then fragile and transfigured but always clear and present. A voice that kicks off a flood of thoughts, one that you believe every word it says. Her lyrics bloom with curious metaphors, as the title of the album already hints at, circling around sadness, security, irony, brevity. The words rotate in a gravitational field between the blackest depths of the soul and a casual gaiety which can only be described as “melancholy” at best: living room impressions. Simply.

Soon her repertoire entails 50 songs. Several tracks from the home studio circulate in virtual space and land on tapes and self-made CD’s In 1999 Mario Thaler gets interested in the two of them. The “Notwist” producer invites Patty Moon to Uphon Studio in Weilheim and produces several songs for a demo. Stock-taking, starting point for further excursions. For four songs, Tobias writes arrangements for a string orchestra which he produces with Holst-Sinfonietta from Freiburg and which can still be enjoyed in the newest incarnations of the songs , especially pure and impressive to hear on “Me and the Moon”: Voice, string orchestra, bowed guitar, you don’t need any more to get shivers up and down your spine.

In 2002 a self-produced Ep „mister sky“ is released. It is followed by various tracks taken from it and released on samplers - Voices from heaven"(Sony), „Mystic spirits" (Zyx) and „Best of Freiburg", where Patty Moon finds herself in the best of company beside names like Moby, Goldfrapp, Wolfsheim or Fiona Apple. The reactions are an encouragement to continue. Comparisons to Goldfrapp or Portishead flatter and always provoke a „but,”: Patty Moon is all about her very own musical sound visions.

Now it seems strange to them to be talking about a “debut” CD with the release of „clouds inside“, "mister sky", "harmony", "borderline", and "second winter" already exist in completely different versions. Fleeting, now they have to prove their identities. Reason enough to perform them live again: as a duo, with Patty Moon reproducing her songs digitally for the most part, or in a quartet with electronics, guitars, bass, drums and cello to meet the challenge of hand-made renditions. But, the songs remain the same, asserting themselves in whatever forms or formations. Live or on CD, Patty Moon circles around the roots of vitality, fully aware of their brittleness. Fragility as a challenge.

It’s worth listening to „clouds inside“ more than once; during the second time you already get that feeling of charming familiarity, as if you finally found that something you’ve been looking for, for a long time.


© Traumton Records



[top] [back]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home

Alle News
Alle Künstler
Alle CDs
Alle Tourdaten



traumton.radio
   Patty Moon: Clouds Inside: Release-Informationen

[Tracks]   [Infos]    [Pressematerial]   [CD bestellen]



VÖ: 15.10.2004
EAN/UPC: 705304515426
Traumton CD: 4476

Die Freiburger Band Patty Moon ist Emotion pur, schwere Beats und eine betörende Stimme, der man sich kaum zu entziehen kann.

"clouds inside" , der Titel des Debut-Albums von Patty Moon ist eine merkwürdig anmutende Metapher, die unwillkürlich Fragen aufwirft: Was sind das für Wolken? Sind es solche, die den Himmel verdunkeln und drohende Stürme ankündigen? Solche, die vorbeiziehen wie ein flüchtiger Gedanke? Solche, die majestätisch und anmutig am Firmament zu Seiten des Sonnenkönigs residieren? Oder sind es federleichte Traumkissen, auf denen man dem Alltag entschweben kann?

1998 begann das musikalische Rendezvous von Patty Moon und dem Komponisten und Musiker Tobias Schwab. Sie komponiert, singt, textet. Er arrangiert, produziert, feilt. Heimstudio nächtelang. Nerven sampeln. Viele ihrer Stücke sind einfach da, sagt Patty. Text und Musik: plötzlich eingefangene Momente oder, wie sie es nennt, "Wohnzimmerimpressionen", die sich von innen nach außen bewegen. Die Symbiose zwischen Pattys ganz eigenen Melodien und Harmonien und der Soundbesessenheit von Tobias Schwab ist das, was die beiden "ihre Musik" nennen.

Und die ist ein abenteuerlicher Klangkosmos, der vom analogen Knistern bis hin zum opulenten Orchesterarrangement reicht. Weitläufige harmonische Bögen tragen die Emotionen, die Sehnsucht in "Second winter", die Rückkehr auf den Boden der Tatsachen in "Horses getting weak". Das 6-Minuten-Opus "Humming", Hingabe an die Selbstvergessenheit, baut mit nur zwei Akkorden berstende Spannung auf und die Entfremdung im eigenen Gedankenfluß bei "Stop and Go" klingt wie der Soundtrack zu einem futuristischer Italo-Western. Und über allem steht die Stimme von Patty Moon. Betörend gebündelte Emotion, warm und erdig zuweilen, dann wieder zerbrechlich und verklärt und immer klar und präsent. Eine Stimme, die Gedankenfluten lostritt und der man jedes Wort glaubt. Ihre Texte blühen von merkwürdigen Metaphern, wie sie der Albumtitel schon vorwegnimmt, kreisen um Traurigkeit, Geborgenheit, Ironie, Flüchtigkeit. Die Worte rotieren im Gravitationsfeld zwischen Abgrund und selbstverständlicher Heiterkeit, was sich wohl nur mit gutem Willen als "Melancholie" beschreiben lässt: Wohnzimmerimpressionen eben.

Bald umfaßt ihr Repertoire mehr als 50 Songs. Einige Tracks aus dem Heimstudio kursieren im virtuellen All, landen auf Tapes und selbstgebrannten CDs. 1999 wird Mario Thaler auf die beiden aufmerksam. Der Notwist-Produzent lädt Patty Moon ins Uphon Studio nach Weilheim ein und produziert einige Songs für ein Demo. Bestandsaufnahme. Ausgangspunkt für weitere Exkursionen. Für vier Songs schreibt Tobias Arrangements für Streichorchester, die er mit der Holst-Sinfonietta aus Freiburg produziert und die noch in den neuesten Inkarnationen der Songs zu genießen sind; besonders puristisch und eindrucksvoll zu hören bei "Me and the moon": Stimme, Streichorchester, Bowed-Guitar - mehr braucht es nicht, um einen Schauer über den Rücken zu jagen.

2002 erscheint die Ep "mister sky" in Eigenregie. Es folgen Auskopplungen auf den Samplern "Voices from heaven", "Mystic spirits" und "Best bands of Freiburg", wo Patty Moon sich neben Namen wie Moby, Goldfrapp, Wolfsheim oder Fiona Apple in bester Gesellschaft befinden. Die Reaktionen ermutigen zum Weitermachen. Vergleiche mit Goldfrapp oder Portishead schmeicheln und provozieren doch immer auch ein "aber": Patty Moon geht es um ihre eigenen musikalisch klanglichen Visionen.

Merkwürdig kommt es ihnen nun vor, bei der Veröffentlichung von "clouds inside" von einer Debut-CD zu sprechen, "mister sky", "harmony", "borderline", "second winter" existieren auch in ganz anderen Versionen. Flüchtig. Jetzt müssen ihre Identität beweisen. Grund genug, das live wieder neu zu inszenieren: einmal als Duo, mit dem Patty Moon ihre Songs weitestgehend digital reproduzieren oder im Quartett mit Electronics, Gitarre, Bass, Schlagzeug und Cello, das sich den Herausforderungen handgemachter Umsetzungen stellt. Aber: die Songs bleiben dieselben, behaupten sich in den unterschiedlichsten Formationen. Live oder auf CD, Patty Moon kreist um die Wurzeln der Vitalität im vollen Bewußtsein um deren Brüchigkeit. Zerbrechlichkeit als Herausforderung.

Es lohnt sich "clouds inside" mehrmals zu hören, denn schon beim zweiten Hören stellt sich das Gefühl anmutiger Vertrautheit ein, als hätte man etwas lange Gesuchtes endlich gefunden.


© Traumton Records, Abdruck honorarfrei, Belegexemplar erbeten



[nach oben] [zurück]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home