all news
all artists
all releases
all events



traumton.radio
   Erika Stucky: Princess: Release Information

[Tracks]   [Info]   [Press]   [Media Resources]    [Order CD]



Release Date: 15.04.2005
EAN/UPC: 705304575628
TT Catalogue No: 4481

Hippie picnics in San Francisco’s Golden Gate Park to a flowery soundtrack of the Monkees, Donovan and Nancy Sinatra. Then suddenly the scene changes abruptly to mountain valleys, yodelling choruses and polka folk in traditional Swiss costume with the Valais Alps looming on the horizon. How a child can handle such a disparate wealth of idyll, how a woman can finally create her own unique vocal universe from it, this we have been able to experience and enjoy in the past few years when the Alpine-American Erica Stucky blesses us with her stage and CD presence. Now she invites us to a third audience with “Princess“- and we hear a nutty, playful, royally profound soundwork with blue and hot-blooded prominence en masse. A big and robust rival to the frail princess of the pea.

Much has been written about this crazy transatlantic biography that whisks a young maiden away from the S.F. Bay Area to “Valais in Wonderland”. How Erika Stucky not only therapied her childhood culture shock at the C.I.M. Jazz School in Paris with voice training, but actually transformed it, making a powerful entrance onto the jazz floor with George Gruntz and Ray Anderson. And how she finally did a neat job of performing the full intercontinental splits with her very own project “Bubbles & Bones”. Amorphously to metamorphic. The amazed press described it like this at times: “Schimmering between alpine girly and jazz lady – more heart-rending than seriously avant-garde. “Serious fun“ (Rolling Stone). „Vocal action art between Laurie Anderson, Meredith Monk and Tom Waits“, discovered Stereoplay. And FAZ states soberly: „There aren´t many vocalists of Erika Stucky’s kind.” What a noble understatement.

In light of the fact that this creative Kraut is sprouting rampantly with unlimited originality in her solo program. A full but elaborately filigree horn section of tuba, trombones and trumpets makes up an extraordinarily clever setting for her onomatopoeic, cineaste-inspired mini-dramas, sometimes her own “Stucky pieces”, sometimes picked from the richly covered fields of popular music from Sting to Hendrix, or even Nazareth.

This is the sound philosophy the Swiss (not by choice!) Miss continues to spin on the third leg of her solo journey. Mischievously slipping into all those princess gowns tailored just for her, showing us how things sound “at the King’s”. The people she plays with:

If the ranks of horn-blowing combatants were built up on the second album “Lovebites”, with Ray Anderson and Lew Soloff among others, this time there are, believe it or not, nine horns on board. The Boston Viennese Jon Sass, tuba player and euphonium-master (Hans Theessink, Henry Threadgill, Vienna Art Orchestra) has been part of the crew since the last album, as well as trombone player Bertl Mütter (Camerata Obscura, Haslinger-Mütter-Puntigam) – they are the chanteuse’s constant companions. With Mnozil Brass however, another seven wild giants from Tu Felix Austria deliver horn-blowing vocals, among them Thomas Gantsch distinguishing himself with solo intermezzi. Knut Jensen congenially attends to the electronic ornamentation with Ms. Stucky herself, percussive improviser Lucas Niggli (Pierre Favre, Fred Frith, Butch Morris...) sets thrilling accents. And with Franz Treichler, a living “Young God” from the number 1 Swiss cult band of the same name joins in with a most unusual part in the script. And these are only the players IN FRONT OF the scenes of the palace.

If one wanted to get all the heads behind the songs together for the royal family photo there would be a real collection of the curios. The little prince from Minneapolis would be sitting there with his playmates Wendy & Lisa on the throne. Leaning on his side, the uncrowned king of grunge, Kurt Cobain. The “(killer) Queen” in person in the form of Freddie Mercury miming an androgynous diva. Her spouse, King Elvis doing a jailhouse rock across the tiles of the palace hall. And to counterbalance the evil Cobain, bad boy Michael from Neverland Ranch would drop by. Aristocratic composure would seldom be maintained, but certainly no one would want to play the picky pea princess.

In spite of being embedded in all that royalty, the „Stuckian“ women’s roles usually remain earthy and deep-rooted. In „Fearless“, the striking fanfare opener, an Amazon princess presents herself wearing golden bracelets and carrying a shield of “trust” to the sound of a droning alphorn-like metal dodrun. Similarly self-confident is the heroine in her own composition “Untouchable”, laughing danger in the face and howling with the wolves, making chills run right down your spine. In “You know You’re Right”, a Cobain song published posthumously, with the Mnozils providing a droll backing, it no longer seems to be Kurt, but his wife Courtney lolling lasciviously around the microphone. Jackson’s “Bad” is sprinkled with Muhammad Ali’s battle cries, setting vocal multi-tracking highlights. In “Jailhouse Rock”, rock’n roll machismo is unmasked by screaming background furies. And there are a couple of tearjerkers in between: A princess waiting unwaveringly and befitting her rank that one day her prince will come, with a heavenly hymn of deliverance at the end. And then Young God Franz Teichler goes off on a duet excursion into Linda Ronstadt’s repertoire: „El Sol Que Tu Eres“ – How splendidly can confederate souls and romantic Chicano myths be united! As a central highlight however, the “dominatrix” thrones in the middle of Stucky’s compositions, a more than worthy successor to the “Roxanne” of her debut album. With a rap-like foreplay the strict temptress entices to a hot strip that the seven boys from Mnozil Brass – pulling out all the New Orleans stops – fire on. To the happy-like ending a last question : Isn’t there a Queen Mother in every mom, who wants to spoil her little boy?

Resolute Amazon, devouring S/M-lady, choleric Rock’n Roll queen and mothering Queen Mom of hearts – Erika Stucky convincingly masters all of her very special royalty-roles.

© Traumton Records



[top] [back]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home

Alle News
Alle Künstler
Alle CDs
Alle Tourdaten



traumton.radio
   Erika Stucky: Princess: Release-Informationen

[Tracks]   [Infos]    [Pressematerial]   [CD bestellen]



VÖ: 15.04.2005
EAN/UPC: 705304575628
Traumton CD: 4481

Hippie-Picknicks im Golden Gate Park von San Francisco, dazu spielen die Monkees, Donovan und Nancy Sinatra den blumigen Soundtrack. Dann kreist plötzlich die Münze im Talerbecken, Jodelchöre und Trachtengruppen ziehen durchs Bild, am Horizont die Walliser Gipfel. Wie kind eine solche disparate Fülle an Idylle wegsteckt, wie schließlich frau daraus ein unikates vokales Universum erschafft, das konnten wir in den letzten Jahren erleben und genießen, wenn die Alpin-Amerikanerin Erika Stucky uns mit ihrer Bühnen- und CD-Präsenz beglückte. Nun lädt sie mit „Princess“ zur dritten Audienz – und wir vernehmen ein spleenig-spielerisches, royal-tiefgründiges Klanggemälde mit blau- und heißblütiger Prominenz en masse. Ein praller Gegenentwurf zur Prinzessin auf der Erbse.

Viel ist über diese verrückte transatlantische Biographie berichtet worden, die ein junges Maidli von der Bay Area nach „Wallis Wonderland“ entführte. Wie Erika Stucky ihren Kindheits-Kulturschock an der Pariser C.I.M. Jazzschule gesangsbildend nicht nur therapierte, sondern transformierte, mit George Gruntz und Ray Anderson das Jazz-Parkett machtvoll bestieg. Und wie sie schließlich mit ihrem ureigenen Projekt „Bubbles & Bones“ amorph bis metamorph den interkontinentalen Spagat hinlegte. Die staunende Presse beschrieb das mitunter so: “Changierend zwischen Alpen-Girlie und Jazz-Lady – eher herzzereißend als seriös avantgardistisch. Serious fun“ (Rolling Stone). „Vokale Aktionskunst zwischen Laurie Anderson, Meredith Monk und Tom Waits“, konnte Stereoplay ausmachen. Und ganz nüchtern protokollierte die FAZ: „Es gibt nicht viele Vokalistinnen von der Art Erika Stuckys.“ Welch nobles Understatement.

Denn in ihrem Soloprogramm wuchert das kreative Kraut in ungebremster Originalität. Sattes, aber auch genauso filigran elaboriertes Blaswerk aus Tuba, Posaunen und Trompeten bildet ein äußerst cleveres gehörntes Setting für ihre lautmalerischen, cineastischen Mini-Dramen, mal eigenes Stucky-Stückchen, mal von der reich gedeckten Spielwiese der Populärmusik unseres Planeten herausgepflückt, von Sting über Hendrix bis Nazareth.

Diese Klang-Philosophie spinnt die Nicht-Wahlwalliserin auf dem dritten Teil ihrer Solo-Reise fort. Und schlüpft dabei schelmisch in sämtlich für sie maßgeschneiderte Prinzessinnen-Kostüme, zeigt uns, wie’s „bei Königs“ so tönt. Das sind ihre Spielleute:

Wurde auf dem zweiten Album „Lovebites“ die Riege der blasenden Kombattanten - darunter Ray Anderson und Lew Soloff - schon ausgebaut, sind diesmal sage und schreibe neun Hörner an Bord. Der Wiener aus der Bronx , Jon Sass, Basstuba-Giant, (Hans Theessink, Henry Threadgill, Vienna Art Orchestra) gehört schon seit dem Vorgänger zum Inventar, genauso ist wieder Posaunist und Euphonium-Meister Bertl Mütter (Camerata Obscura, Haslinger-Mütter-Puntigam) von der Partie – sie sind die ständigen Companions der Chanteuse. Mit Mnozil Brass machen jedoch weitere sieben wilde Riesen aus Tu Felix Austria ihre blasende / vokale Aufwartung, und unter ihnen seilt sich Thomas Gansch auch mit solistischen Intermezzi ab. Knut Jensen besorgt kongenial mit Frau Stucky selbst das elektronische Zierwerk, der schlagwerkende Improvisator Lucas Niggli (Pierre Favre, Fred Frith, Butch Morris...) setzt erschütternde Akzente. Und mit Franz Treichler gesellt sich sogar ein leibhaftiger Young God von der gleichnamigen Schweizer Kultband Nummer 1 in einem recht ungewohnten Part ins Drehbuch. Und das sind nur die Akteure VOR den Kulissen des Palastes.

Wollte man alle Köpfe hinter den Songs fürs adlige Familienfoto zusammenbringen, es gäbe ein kurioses Panoptikum. Da säße der kleine Prince aus Minneapolis mitsamt seinen Gespielinnen Wendy & Lisa auf dem Thron. An seiner Seite lehnte der ungekrönte Grunge-Graf Kurt Cobain. Die „(Killer-) Queen“ höchstpersönlich in Gestalt von Freddie Mercury mimte die androgyne Diva. Ihr Gemahl, King Elvis, legte ein flottes Gefängnistänzchen auf die Fliesen des Schloss-Saales. Und als Gegenspieler zum finsteren Cobain schaute der böse Bube Michael von der Neverland-Ranch vorbei. Vornehme Contenance bewahrt man dabei selten, aber das zickige Erbs-Prinzesschen wird erst recht nicht markiert.

Denn trotz royaler Verankerung bleiben die Stuckyschen Frauengestalten gewohnt erdig und bodenständig: In „Fearless“, der markanten Auftaktfanfare, präsentiert sich über alphornhaft dröhnendem Blechbordun eine Amazonen-Prinzessin, mit „goldbereiften Armbändern und einem Schild aus Vertrauen“. Ähnlich selbstbewusst gibt sich die Heldin in ihrer Eigenkomposition „Untouchable“, lacht der Gefahr ins Gesicht und heult kalte Schauer erzeugend mit den Wölfen. In „You Know You’re Right“, dem posthum veröffentlichten Cobain-Song, setzen die Mnozils ein skurriles Backing und es scheint nicht mehr Kurt, sondern Gattin Courtney zu sein, die sich da lasziv ums Mikro räkelt. Jacksons „Bad“ ist mit Muhammad Ali-Schlachtrufen unterfüttert und setzt vokale Multi-Tracking-Glanzlichter. Im „Jailhouse Rock“ wird der Rock’n Roll-Machismo durch kreischende Hintergrund-Furien entlarvt. Und zwischendrin zwei Schmachtfetzen: Da wartet sie ganz unerschütterlich und einer Prinzessin standesgemäß, dass eines Tages ihr Erwählter kommen möge, mit hymnischem Erlösungs-Choral am Ende. Und dann lässt sich Young God Franz Treichler auf eine Duett-Exkursion ins Linda Ronstadt-Repertoire ein: „El Sol Que Tu Eres“ - wie trefflich sich doch die eidgenössische Seele und romantische Chicano-Mythen verbünden können! Als zentrales Highlight jedoch thront die „Domina“ inmitten der Stucky-Kompositionen, eine mehr als würdige Nachfolgerin der „Roxanne“ vom Debütalbum: Mit einem rapartigen Vorspiel lockt sie streng zum heißen Strip, den die sieben Jungs von Mnozil Brass - alle New Orleans-Register (aus)ziehend - anfeuern. Zum gluckenhaften Ausklang die Frage: Steckt nicht in jeder Mama eine Königinmutter, die ihren Bubi verhätscheln möchte?

Resolute Amazone, verschlingende S/M-Dame, cholerische Rock’n Roll-Queen und bemutternde Queen Mom der Herzen – Erika Stucky hat all ihre ganz speziellen Royalty-Rollen überzeugend im Griff.

© Traumton Records, Abdruck honorarfrei, Belegexemplar erbeten



[nach oben] [zurück]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home