all news
all artists
all releases
all events



traumton.radio
   So.Weiss: Hunter / Dancer: Release Information

[Tracks]   [Info]   [Media Resources]    [Order CD]



Release Date: 14.04.2006
EAN/UPC: 705304659328
TT Catalogue No: 4490

So.Weiss: "Hunter / Dancer"
Susanne Folk, Kristiina Tuomi, Roland Fidezius

Poetry and jazz: an on-going love affair that has received numerous rejuvenating nuances over the decades. A trio consisting of horn(s), voice and bass continues to write the history of this flirt, probes eerie-romantic glimmer, as well as glaringly bright gleam, captures the dancing white of snowflakes in sound, but also the sluggish atmosphere of summer. And the fact that the trio – brought to life by saxophone player Susanne Folk – calls itself „So.Weiss“ has as much to do with English verse as with German poetic art and Nordic spirit.

Those of you who have delighted in listening to the debut CD of the German-Finnish singer Kristiina Tuomi will find a similar-sounding twin in „Hunter/Dancer“, yet one with its own will. Once again Traumton presents a trio that cultivates the congenial relationship between verse and improvisation with many facets. So.Weiss is the brainchild of saxophone player Susanne Folk from Braunschweig; all compositions are written by her. During her studies in Essen (Folkwang) and Berlin (University of the Arts) with Peter Weniger and David Friedman she attended workshops lead by Kenny Wheeler, Phil Woods and Joey Baron amongst others. As a member of the Youth Jazz Orchestra of Lower Saxony she toured through Russia and recorded the CD „Wind Machine“. Continuing her work with big bands she played with Peter Herbolzheimer´s German Youth Jazz Orchestra and the European Jazz Youth Orchestra. Today a wide range of ensembles represents her musical craft: Take, for instance, the international band collective „Kenosha Kid” that has specialized in an unorthodox accompaniment of movies with a mixture between klezmer-punk and circus music and with which she has so far gone on tour twice through North America and Germany in 2005/2006. In 2005 she also gained experience playing with jazz musicians in New York, where she also had lessons with Greg Osby, Ravi Coltrane, Chris Speed and Tony Malaby and took part in workshops lead by Steve Coleman and Uri Caine.

Extremely recognizable and with immediate effect:„Kristiina Tuomi sings with disarming clarity and simplicity – far from jazz parameters“, wrote the jazz magazine Jazzthetik about the 28-year-old daughter of a Finnish mother and a German father following her first CD „Tightrope Walker“, released last year. And the magazine Jazzthing judged: „In spite of these light particles the music stays… enchantingly dark and with its clear, lyrical melodies and transfigured harmonies charmingly artificial. “Praise for a versatile singer, who from Electronica (Paloma) over indiepop (Seazoo) to acustical elegies, from opera to jazz to pop and dancefloor has sung in various musical environments. When Susanne Folk heard her colleague sing with the band „Fried Fly” the initial spark for „So.Weiss“ was lit and she began to gear her pieces to Tuomi´s voice.

Double bassist Roland Fidezius, born in Wuppertal, also studied at the University of the Arts in Berlin and has developed into an allround musician in demand. He has worked with Richard Howell, Owen Howard, Matthias Schubert and Don Pi (Gilberto Gil) amongst others. He cultivates his own compositions in the band „Odd Shot”, whose CD „Oscar & Emma“(Konnex Records) was released in 2005. His participation in the international workshop in Canadian Banff lead to becoming a member of the Kenosha Kid project (see Folk!) and also lead to founding a quartet with Peter van Huffel (NY). Apart from that he has proved himself to be well-versed in classical music, as, for instance, in the performance of the Montezuma Opera by Carl Heinrich Graun and Wolfgang Rihm, and in the „12 Celan-Songs“ by Michael Nyman. Engagements as a theater musician (Hansa Theatre, Neuköllner Opera) and tv appearances round off his spectrum.

The group’s name „So.Weiss”, echoed in the title of the piece „So White“, derives from a line of dramatic dialogue between Lady Macbeth and her husband just after the latter has killed the king and his unscrupulous wife wants to wash away his feelings of guilt – a symbolic scene for just this fluctuation between light and dark that in the course of the album journeys between Scandinavia, old Britain and young Berlin.

The fondness for the poets of the classical and romantic periods form a leitmotif: Thus, apart from the drama of Shakespeare, the verse of the sensitive John Keats and the heroic Lord Byron has been set to music. Pure and clear and partially with the melodiousness of folk songs Susanne captures the British vein. However, and the risk has been worth it, contemporary German poetry has also been turned into song. The present-day poet Monika Rinck from Berlin (debut volume: „Verzückte Distanzen“, Ed. Postskriptum) has lent two of her poems, one of which generates flowing white wintry lines that seem to have been written just for Tuomi’s timbre. Folk herself has written pertinent lyrics on the crowdedness of the subway which mirror the fidgety nervousness of urban rush hours. The trio continuously proves to be an almost symbiotic unit: Folk’s agile saxophone and her full-sounding clarinet, as well as Fidezius’ bass – at times with a generous sweep of the bow, at other times with a racing series of plucked notes – take part in a lively, intimate conversation with the voice, but detach themselves on occasion for freer play, drift over into improvisational intermezzi, finally returning to the basic idea of the song, always in service of the poetic substance. This album is a fresh, bold-spirited stirring up of the passionate fire between poetry and jazz .

 

Tips for listening:
-“When we two parted” (1): The yearning farewell song of the traveling poet is converted into an intimate, Scandinavian folkish dialogue with the saxophone; jazzy improvisations brake up the transparent mood of the beginning
-“Hunter/Dancer” (2): In the title-track the clarinet paints circling spirals in secretive low ranges underneath Tuomi´s bright voice, the bass laying a dancing basis underneath.
-“Die Richtung des Taus” (The direction of the dew) (4): The Snow-poem by the young professional poet from Berlin is a veritable jewel in contemporary German Verse. In the composition the nuances of the swirling flaky landscape are deepened playfully.
-“La Belle Dame”(10): The well-known Keats ballad of the knight, who is bewitched by an elf – So.Weiss proves that pure romanticism can be done tastefully still today and can, moreover, be performed with high intensity.

© Traumton Records

[top] [back]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home

Alle News
Alle Künstler
Alle CDs
Alle Tourdaten



traumton.radio
   So.Weiss: Hunter / Dancer: Release-Informationen

[Tracks]   [Infos]    [Pressematerial]   [CD bestellen]



VÖ: 14.04.2006
EAN/UPC: 705304659328
Traumton CD: 4490

So.Weiss: "Hunter / Dancer"
Susanne Folk, Kristiina Tuomi, Roland Fidezius

Lyrik und Jazz - eine alte Liebesbeziehung, die im Laufe der Jahrzehnte viele erneuernde Nuancen erfahren hat. Ein Trio aus Blaswerk, Stimme und Bass schreibt die Historie dieses Flirts fort, lotet schaurig-romantischen Schimmer genauso aus wie gleißend helle Strahlkraft, fängt das tanzende Weiß der Schneeflocken treffend in Klängen ein, aber auch eine träge Sommerstimmung. Und dass sich das Dreiergespann um die Saxophonistin Susanne Folk So.Weiss nennt, hat mit englischer Poetry ebenso viel zu tun wie mit neuer deutscher Dichterschmiede oder nordischer Seele.

Wer sich noch angenehm an das Debüt der deutsch-finnischen Sängerin Kristiina Tuomi erinnert, wird mit "Hunter / Dancer" einen klanglichen Zwillingsbruder mit durchaus eigenem Willen entdecken. Wiederum präsentiert Traumton ein Dreiergespann, das die kongeniale Partnerschaft von Verskunst und Improvisation facettenreich kultiviert. So.Weiss ist das Brainchild der Braunschweiger Saxophonistin Susanne Folk, aus ihrer Feder stammen sämtliche Kompositionen. Als Mitglied des niedersächsischen Jugendjazzorchesters tourte sie durch Russland und spielte die CD "Wind Machine" ein. Ihre Studien in Essen (Folkwang) und Berlin (Universität der Künste) absolvierte sie u.a. bei Peter Weniger und David Friedman, Workshops - etwa bei Kenny Wheeler, Phil Woods und Joey Baron - ergänzten ihre Ausbildung. Mit Peter Herbolzheimers Bundesjugendjazzorchester sowie dem European Youth Jazz Orchestra führte sie die Linie der Bigbands fort. Heute zählt eine Fülle von Ensembles auf ihre Spielkunst: So etwa das internationale Bandkollektiv Kenosha Kid, das sich mit einer Mischung aus Klezmerpunk und Zirkusmusik auf die unorthodoxe Begleitung von Filmen spezialisiert hat und mit dem sie 2005/2006 durch Deutschland und die USA tourt(e). Des weiteren ist sie Mitglied im Berliner Kaktus Sechstett und im multinationalen Damenorchester Salome. Folk sammelte 2005 monatelange Jazzerfahrung in New York, wo sie u.a. bei Greg Osby, Ravi Coltrane, Chris Speed und Tony Malaby Unterricht erhielt, an Workshops mit Steve Coleman und Uri Caine teilnahm.

Ein Wiedererkennungseffekt mit sofortiger Wirkung bei der Stimme des Trios: "Kristiina Tuomi singt mit entwaffnender Klarheit und Schlichtheit - fernab von Jazzparametern", befand Jazzthetik über die 28jährige Tochter einer finnischen Mutter und eines deutschen Vaters zu ihrem letztjährigen erschienenen Opus "Tightrope Walker". Und "Jazzthing" urteilte: "Trotz dieser Lichtpartikel bleibt die Musik ... erfreulich dunkel, verwunschen und tönt mit ihren klaren, lyrischen Melodien und verklärten Harmonien liebreizend artifiziell." Lobeshymnen für eine vielseitige Absolventin der Universität der Künste zu Berlin, die von Electronica (Paloma) über Indiepop (Seazoo) bis zu akustischen Elegien, von Oper über Jazz bis Pop und Dancefloor während ihrer knappen künstlerischen Vita schon auf vielen "Hochzeiten" gesungen hat. Als Susanne Folk die Kollegin im Rahmen des Projekts "Fried Fly" hörte, war der Initialfunke für So.Weiss gezündet und sie begann ihre Stücke auf Tuomi zuzuschneidern.

Kontrabassist Roland Fidezius, gebürtig aus Wuppertal, studierte ebenfalls an der Universität der Künste in Berlin und entwickelte sich zu einem gefragten Allrounder: Er arbeitete u.a. mit Richard Howell, Owen Howard, Matthias Schubert und Don Pi (Gilberto Gil). Seine Eigenkompositionen pflegt er im Projekt Odd Shot, das 2005 die CD "Oscar & Emma" (Konnex Records) veröffentlichte. Seine Teilnahme am internationalen Jazzworkshop im kanadischen Banff führte zur Gründung von Kenosha Kid (siehe Folk!) und löste auch die Bildung eines Quartetts mit Peter van Huffel (NY) aus. Daneben zeigte er sich jedoch auch in der Klassik versiert, so in der Aufführung der Montezuma-Oper von Carl Heinrich Graun und Wolfgang Rihm, sowie den "12 Celan-Songs" von Michael Nyman. Engagements als Theatermusiker (Hansa Theater, Neuköllner Oper) und TV-Auftritte runden sein Spektrum ab.

"So.Weiss" - das ist natürlich kein begeisterter Werbeausruf für ein neues Vollwaschmittel. Vielmehr - und das verrät der Titel "So White" der vorliegenden Scheibe - leitet sich der Projektname aus einer Zeile im dramatischen Dialog zwischen Lady Macbeth und Macbeth her, just nachdem letzterer den Königsmord verübt hat und seine skrupellose Gattin ihn von schlechtem Gewissen reinwaschen will. Eine symbolische Szene für ebenjenes Wechselspiel von Licht und Schatten also, das im Verlauf des Albums zwischen Skandinavien, dem alten England und dem jungen Berlin hin und her oszilliert.

Das Faible für die Dichter der englischsprachigen Klassik und Romantik bildet einen roten Faden: So wurden der feinsinnige John Keats und der heroische Lord Byron neben Shakespeare zur Vertonung auserkoren. Rein und transparent, teils mit der Sanglichkeit eines Volksliedes hat Susanne Folk den Duktus der Briten aufgefangen. Doch - und das Wagnis ist gelungen- findet sich auch ganz aktuelle Lyrik in deutscher Zunge zu Tönen gesetzt: Die Gegenwartspoetin Monika Rinck aus Berlin (Debütband "Verzückte Distanzen", Ed. Postskriptum) steuerte zwei ihrer Gedichte bei, darunter fließende weiße Winterzeilen, die wie geschaffen sind für Tuomis Timbre. Folk selbst hat treffende Zeilen über das Gedränge in der U-Bahn geschrieben, die mit urbaner Hibbeligkeit gestaltet werden.
Das Trio erweist sich über die ganze Strecke als fast symbiotische Einheit: Folks agiles Saxophon und ihre vollmundige Klarinette sowie Fidezius' Tieftöner, mal mit großzügigem Strich, mal jagend gezupft, stehen immer im angeregten, vertrauten Zwiegespräch mit den Vocals, lösen sich dann und wann zu freieren Umspielungen, driften hinüber in improvisatorische Intermezzi, kehren schließlich zurück zur Grundidee des Songs, immer im Dienste der dichterischen Substanz. Mit diesem Album wird das Feuer der Leidenschaft zwischen Lyrik und Jazz frisch und wagemutig neu geschürt.

Anspieltipps:

- "When We Two Parted" (1): Das sehnsüchtige Abschiedslied des reisenden Dichters wird in intimer, skandinavisch-folkig angetupfter Zwiesprache mit dem Sax umgesetzt, jazzige Improvisationen brechen die transparente Anfangsstimmung.
- "Hunter / Dancer" (2): Im Titelstück malt die Klarinette in geheimnisvoll tiefen Lagen kreisende Spiralen unter der hellen Stimme Tuomis, tänzerisch-federnd grundiert der Bass
- "Die Richtung des Taus" (4): Das Schnee-Poem der Berliner Nachwuchsdichterin zählt schon per se zu den Kleinoden neuer deutscher Verskunst. In der Vertonung werden die Nuancen der wirbelnden Flockenlandschaft spielerisch vertieft.
- "La Belle Dame" (10): Die bekannte Keats-Ballade vom Ritter, der von einer Elfe in den Bann gezogen wird - dass pure Romantik auch heute noch unverkitscht und zudem hochdramatisch in Szene gesetzt werden kann, beweisen So.Weiss hier.

© Traumton Records, Abdruck honorarfrei, Belegexemplar erbeten



[nach oben] [zurück]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home