all news
all artists
all releases
all events



traumton.radio
   Carsten Daerr Trio: Insomniac Wonderworld: Release Information

[Tracks]   [Info]   [Press]   [Media Resources]    [Order CD]



Release Date: 26.10.2007
EAN/UPC: 705304450826
TT Catalogue No: 4508
hören bei

Insomniac Wonderworld

After his highly lauded debut PurpleCoolCarSleep (2003), followed up by what Rolling Stone Magazine heralded as "The most exciting piano trio album of the year 2005 ", Bantha Food (2005), we are now presented with Insomniac Wonderworld, the third album from Carsten Daerr's original trio of himself (piano, organ), Oliver Potratz (bass) and Eric Schaefer (drums). Saxophonist Uwe Steinmetz appears as a guest on two tracks.

Insomniac Wonderworld – the title allows for a lot of associations: for example the world of sleepless creatures of the night, as portrayed in Jürgen Roland's 1959 film "Unser Wunderland bei Nacht" (" Wonderland by Night"). The director combines scenes from Hamburg's nightlife with the narration style of the American Film Noir here, so creating his own distinctive aesthetics. With the music of pianist Daerr (born in 1975) it's pretty much the same thing: For years he's been expanding the boundaries of his music by harmonizing the art of genuine American jazz with his German roots, finding his way to his own expression, his own individual language.

The insomnia on Insomniac Wonderworld is not one of nervous restlessness however; for Carsten Daerr "insomniac" means much more a condition of heightened wakefulness in which amazement and wonder constantly pop into in the present. Carsten Daerr has retained the ability to marvel at things, and along with that has the rare talent of literally playing between the lines. The impressions from his Southeast Asian tour aren't built into his works in the form of folkloristic reminiscing, but as far-reaching directness and suspenseful dynamics. On songs like „Manila“, „Kuala Lumpur“, “Singapur“ and „Jakarta“, it becomes obvious that traveling is the album's central theme. Travel destinations serve Daerr as the starting point for five of the twelve tracks; the atmosphere, architecture and sound tapestries from these Asian metropolises are worked into his compositions.

Daerr plays with the open structures of jazz, leaves the trodden path and seeks new perspectives to describe places in Southeast Asia. The results of this cosmopolitan approach are such unique songs as the energy-laden „Manila“, the strangely impenetrable and mystically charged „Penang“, or „Singapur“, that starts like a sixty's instrumental, becomes increasingly complex, and suddenly ends up reminiscing of reggae and dub . Carsten Daerr, it seems, is stranger to no one and nothing in the world of music.
More introspective compositions supply the contrast to these songs, above all the lyrical „Epilog (for my father)“ and the piano-solo composition „Lucia“. These homages to people create a quasi antipole to the "travel songs".

A further caesura are the compositions drummer Eric Schaefer contributes to the album. In the wild and choppy „Negative FX“ he appears to be dealing with his relationship to hardcore in the 80's, and on the seemingly other-worldly track „Flatus Voci“, the trio uses sound samples of a church organ, among others. And finally, „R2D2 Reloaded“ gives us a double recourse to the past: for one the song has the same name as the cuddly robot in the Sci-Fi cult epic Star Wars, for another on Bantha Food there was already a composition with the title R2D2 (Err-Zwo-De-Zwo). It's exactly this musical back reference that shows what quantum leaps the trio has made in the last two years. And how these nmusicians, after the Bantha Food excursion, have arrived in the here and now - distinctly more grounded.

After existing for ten years, Carsten Daerr and his trio have not only delivered the proverbial „difficult third album“ as one says in the world of music, but with Insomniac Wonderworld, have pushed open a door to a new sound universe. And leave the amazement to the listener.



[top] [back]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home

Alle News
Alle Künstler
Alle CDs
Alle Tourdaten



traumton.radio
   Carsten Daerr Trio: Insomniac Wonderworld: Release-Informationen

[Tracks]   [Infos]    [Pressematerial]   [CD bestellen]



VÖ: 26.10.2007
EAN/UPC: 705304450826
Traumton CD: 4508
hören bei

"... Berlin pianist Carsten Daerr's Trio transfixed the twentysomething audience with the energy of an indie rock band. Capable of creating the elegant and the profound, they settled for the latter. Showing new ways of thinking and feeling about things is the defining task of a true artist, and Daerr did it - whatever you wanted to call his music."
Stuart Nicholson, Guardian Unlimited 4 2007

Carsten Daerr Trio – Insomniac Wonderworld

Nach dem hochgelobten Debut PurpleCoolCarSleep (2003) und dem vom Magazin Rolling Stone zur „spannendsten Klaviertrio Platte des Jahres 2005“ gekürten Nachfolger Bantha Food (2005) liegt mit Insomniac Wonderworld nun das dritte Album des Carsten Daerr Trios in der unveränderten Besetzung Carsten Daerr (Piano, Orgel), Oliver Potratz (Bass) und Eric Schaefer (Schlagzeug) vor. Gast bei zwei Tracks ist der Saxophonist Uwe Steinmetz.

Insomniac Wonderworld – dieser Titel lässt viele Assoziationen zu: Zum Beispiel die Welt der schlaflosen Nachtgestalten, wie sie in dem Spielfilm Unser Wunderland bei Nacht von Jürgen Roland 1959 portraitiert wurden. In diesem kombinierte der Regisseur Bilder aus dem Hamburger Nachtleben mit dem Erzählstil des amerikanischen Film Noir und schuf so seine eigene, unverkennbare Ästhetik. Mit der Musik des 1975 geborenen Pianisten Daerr verhält es sich ganz ähnlich: Auch er schiebt die Grenzen seiner Musik seit Jahren dadurch hinaus, dass er die genuin amerikanische Kunstform des Jazz mit seinen, eben deutschen, Wurzeln in Einklang bringt und so zu einem eigenen Ausdruck, einer individuellen Sprache findet.
Doch ist die Schlaflosigkeit auf Insomniac Wonderworld nicht von nervöser Unruhe geprägt, bedeutet "Insomniac" bei Carsten Daerr doch vielmehr einen Zustand überhöhter Wachheit, in dem das Staunen ständig in die Gegenwart ragt. Carsten Daerr hat sich die Fähigkeit, zu staunen, bewahrt und zudem hat er das seltene Talent, förmlich zwischen den Zeilen zu spielen. So fliessen auf Insomniac Wonderworld auch die Eindrücke seiner Südostasien Tournee nicht in Form folkloristischer Reminiszenzen , sondern als weiträumige Offenheit und spannende Dynamik in seine Kompositionen ein. Bei Titeln wie „Manila“, „Kuala Lumpur“,“Singapur“ und „Jakarta“ wird augenfällig, dass das Reisen ein thematischer Hauptstrang des Albums ist. Für fünf der zwölf Stücke dienten Daerr Reiseziele als Ausgangspunkte; Atmosphäre, Architektur und Klangkulissen dieser asiatischen Metropolen werden in diesen Kompositionen verarbeitet.

Daerr spielt mit der Strukturoffenheit des Jazz, verläßt ausgetretene Pfade und sucht neue Perspektiven, um Orte in Südostasien zu beschreiben. Das Ergebnis dieser kosmopolitischen Herangehensweise sind so einzigartige Stücke wie das energiegeladene „Manila“, das seltsam undurchdringliche, mystisch aufgeladene „Penang“ oder „Singapur“, das wie ein Sixties-Instrumental beginnt, zunehmend komplexer wird, um dann plötzlich in Reggae- und Dub-Anklängen zu münden. Carsten Daerr, so scheint es, ist musikalisch nichts fremd.
Den Kontrast zu diesen Stücken bilden die introspektiveren Kompositionen, allen voran der lyrische „Epilog (für meinen Vater)“ und die Piano-Solo-Komposition „Lucia“. Diese Hommagen an Menschen bilden quasi den Gegenpol zu den „Reisestücken“.
Eine weitere Zäsur bilden die Kompositionen, die Schlagzeuger Eric Schaefer dem Album beisteuerte. In dem wilden, zerhackten „Negative FX“ verarbeitet er allem Anschein nach seine Beziehung zum Hardcore der 80er Jahre, und in dem andersweltlich anmutenden Track „Flatus Voci“ verwendet das Trio u.a. Soundsamples einer Kirchenorgel. Und schließlich ist da mit „R2D2 Reloaded“ noch ein doppelter Rückgriff auf Vergangenes: Zum einen trägt das Stück den selben Namen wie der knuffige Roboter aus Sci-Fi-Kultepos Star Wars, zum anderen gab es bereits auf Bantha Food ein Komposition mit dem Titel R2D2 (Err-Zwo-De-Zwo). Gerade dieser musikalische Rückbezug macht klar, welchen Quantensprung das Trio in den letzten zwei Jahren gemacht hat. Und wie es, nach dem Bantha Food-Ausflug, deutlich geerdeter im Hier und Jetzt angekommen ist.

Nach zehnjähriger Existenz haben Carsten Daerr und sein Trio mit Insomniac Wonderworld nicht nur das in der Musikbranche proverbiale „difficult third album“ mit Bravour abgeliefert, sondern auch eine Tür in ein neues Klanguniversum aufgestoßen. Und überlassen das Staunen dem Hörer.



[nach oben] [zurück]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home