all news
all artists
all releases
all events



traumton.radio
   Michael Schiefel: My Home Is My Tent: Release Information

[Tracks]   [Info]   [Media Resources]    [Order CD]



Release Date: 07.05.2010
EAN/UPC: 705304453926
TT Catalogue No: 4539

MICHAEL SCHIEFEL - My Home Is My Tent

Up and away, the time’s are-a-changing, the world is getting smaller, and people are always on the go. Whether virtually or physically hardly seems to make a difference; live streaming makes everyone available all the time. Just as distances seem to be disappearing, disappearing into them is what threatens the individual. Mobility harbors the risk of sensory overload and uprooting, but singer Michael Schiefel has reached his destination, on the road, at home. The title of his new solo album "My Home Is My Tent" was well-chosen. The tent is no snail’s shell that the loner carries around as a hard-case mobile cave for beating a quick retreat, serving as both protection and burden in equal measure. As a virtual home, the tent is easy to transport, and quickly set up. The tent wall swings and becomes a magic membrane to the outside world, allowing concentration and permeance at the same time, filtering impressions and distilling them down to personal experiences. Or, using the words of the great visionary Vilém Flusser, who much preferred moving "containers" and tents to houses: "The tent wall blowing in the wind collects the experiences, processes them, and sends them out, and we have it to thank for making the tent a creative nest".

"My Home Is My Tent" is Michael Schiefel‘s fifth solo work and his fourth CD for Traumton. It is an album that takes a conceptual double burden onto its narrow shoulders, and this much we can tell you, it is carried with ease.

First of all it is a "theme album" that casts a lyrical and musical look at nine cities that the singer (with one exception) travelled to in recent years and months. On the other hand it is a solo album in the truest sense of the word, consisting 100 percent of Michael Schiefel‘s vocal utterances. This covers, as his fans and critics know, a wide spectrum: from generic jazz singing to creative expression, from feminine to masculine, from natural acting to digital effects, from scatting to beatboxing. The only tools he uses are a looping device, especially designed for him, with which he can flip his voice back onto itself and, if need be, layer into multi-voiced choirs or complete vocal ensembles, and a laptop with software that gives its user unlimited possibilities of deformation, distension, and configuration of voice fragments. With these tools, Schiefel can create complex, other-worldly, madrigal-like polyphony, or even a complete band with drums, bass, and harmony instruments.

"My Home Is My Tent" was recorded in Traumton-Studio in Berlin. Some arrangements that Schiefel had already finished "on the road" were given new lead vocals and finalized, other songs were born from spontaneous improvisation. Several tracks, like the emblematic title song, are based on lyrics (by Max Hirsh and Michael Schiefel) and follow their very own type of song format. Others remain nonverbal and abstract. The idealistic coherence is given by several three-letter acronyms which we all know from the little tags on our luggage. In "TLV" for example, we dive right into the multilingual babel from Tel Aviv, with its discos, high-rises, mobile phones and short fuses that quickly drive visitors straight to the water. As it says in the lyrics: I prefer the beach. And so it goes on, like to Moscow, where the darkness and coldness become tangible with long sustained notes and a frosty reverb on the lead vocal. Then, in complete contrast, comes Hong Kong, which, in spite of its hustle and bustle, Michael Schiefel always perceives as being "like a warm bath tub". Stations like San Francisco, Karatchi, New York and Boston follow, the last of which inspired the maybe most touching song of the album: Eponymous hero "Benjamin" is blessed with extraordinary talents, but prefers to keep them to himself. The story contains a couple of themes we‘ve run across rather frequently in Schiefel’s songs to date: Being an outsider, estrangement, and the power of creativity. In the end, we get back down to earth and hard reality: "TXL (Back In Berlin)" is a meditation on arriving in a familiar, but depressing world. After that there‘s only Funafuti – the only airport on the record that Schiefel’s never been to. And that is exactly what he’s talking about. As he sings in the first song, "I think I should be in Funafuti / get lost in the sea". Funafuti becomes an idealized faraway place whose appeal grows even more with its airport code of FUN.

Fun is, for all the profundity and apparent virtuosity, a factor which should never be underestimated with Michael Schiefel. Fun with the art of tonal fabulation, fun with increasingly sophisticated technical devices, fun with his own voice, fun with tinkering around by himself as well as with collective music-making, which he shows again and again by being a regular in the formations Jazz Indeed and Nicolai Thärichen‘s Tentett. On "My Home Is My Tent" he combines this ease with personal observations, experiences, and highly diverse musical approaches. It is an invitation to everyone who would rather feel challenged by music than lulled to sleep, and those who don’t need a hotel bed for an extraordinary experience, when sometimes a tent does quite nicely.



[top] [back]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home

Alle News
Alle Künstler
Alle CDs
Alle Tourdaten



traumton.radio
   Michael Schiefel: My Home Is My Tent: Release-Informationen

[Tracks]   [Infos]    [Pressematerial]   [CD bestellen]



VÖ: 07.05.2010
EAN/UPC: 705304453926
Traumton CD: 4539

Michael Schiefel - My Home Is My Tent

„My Home Is My Tent“ ist Michael Schiefels fünfte Solo-Arbeit und seine vierte CD für Traumton. Es ist ein Album, das seinen schmalen Schultern eine konzeptuelle Doppelbelastung aufbürdet, und soviel sei schon verraten: Er trägt sie mit Leichtigkeit.

Zunächst ist es ein „Themenalbum“, das einen lyrischen und musikalischen Blick auf neun Großstädte wirft, die der Sänger (mit einer Ausnahme) in den letzten Jahren und Monaten bereist hat. Andererseits ist es ein Solo-Album im allerwahrsten Wortsinn, das zu 100 Prozent aus Michael Schiefels vokalen Äußerungen besteht. Das beschreibt, wie seine Fans und seine Kritiker wissen, ein weites Spektrum: vom generischen Jazzgesang zum expressiven Ausdruck, von feminin bis maskulin, von Naturschauspiel bis digital-effektiv, vom Scatgesang zum Beatboxing. Die einzigen Werkzeuge sind dabei ein für ihn entwickeltes Loopgerät, mit dem er seine Stimme auf sich selbst zurückwerfen und, je nach Bedarf, zu mehrstimmigen Chören oder ganzen Vokal-Ensembles schichten kann; und ein Laptop, dessen Software dem ausgeprägten Spieltrieb seines Benutzers unbegrenzte Möglichkeiten der Deformation, Dehnung, Streckung und Gestaltung der Stimmfragmente in die Hand gibt. Mit diesen Mitteln kann Schiefel komplexe, an außerweltliche Madrigale erinnernde Mehrstimmigkeit erzeugen, oder auch mal eine komplette Band mit Schlagzeug, Bass und Harmonieinstrumenten.

„My Home Is My Tent“ wurde im Traumton-Studio in Berlin aufgenommen. Zum Teil wurden Arrangements, die Schiefel bereits „on the road“ angefertigt hatte, mit neuen Lead-Stimmen versehen und finalisiert, andere Stücke entstanden als spontane Improvisationen. Einige Tracks, wie der emblematische Titelsong, basieren auf Texten (von Max Hirsh und Michael Schiefel selbst) und folgen ihrer ganz eigenen Form von Songformat. Andere bleiben nonverbal und abstrakt. Den ideellen Zusammenhalt stiftet eine Reihe von dreistelligen Akronymen, die wir alle von den kleinen Wimpeln an unseren Gepäckstücken kennen. In „TLV“ zum Beispiel tauchen wir direkt ein in das multilinguale Stimmengewirr von Tel Aviv mit seinen Discos, Hochhäusern, Mobiltelfonen und kurzen Zündschnüren, die den Besucher schnell ans Wasser treiben. Wie es im Text heißt: I prefer the beach. Und so geht es weiter, zum Beispiel nach Moskau, dessen Dunkelheit und Kälte mit langen, liegenden Tönen und einem frostigen Hall auf der einsamen Leadstimme spürbar wird. Ganz im Gegensatz dazu Hong Kong, das Michael Schiefel, trotz des Gewusels stets „wie eine warme Badewanne“ empfindet. Es folgen Stationen wie San Francisco, Karatchi, New York und Boston, welches den vielleicht berührendsten Song des Albums inspirierte: Titelheld „Benjamin“ ist mit außergewöhnlichen Fähigkeiten gesegnet, behält sie aber lieber für sich. Die Geschichte enthält ein paar Motive, die uns in Schiefels bisherigen Songs schon häufiger begegnet sind: Außenseitertum, Entfremdung und die Kraft der Kreativität. Am Ende steht die Rückkehr auf den harten Boden der Tatsachen: „TXL (Back In Berlin)“ ist eine Meditation über das Ankommen in einer vertrauten, aber darin auch ganz schön deprimierenden Welt. Dahinter schließlich liegt nur noch Funafuti – der einzige Flughafen der Platte, auf dem Schiefel noch nie war. Und genau darum geht es ihm. Wie er im ersten Song singt: I think I should be in Funafuti / get lost in the sea. Funafuti wird zum idealisierten, fernen Ort, dessen Reiz sich noch dadurch erhöht, dass sein Flughafenkürzel FUN lautet.

Spaß ist, bei allem Tiefgang und seiner offenkundigen Virtuosität, ein Faktor, den man bei Michael Schiefel nie unterschätzen sollte. Spaß an klanglicher Fabulierkunst, Spaß am technischen Fortschritt, Spaß an der eigenen Stimme, am einsamen Basteln wie am kollektiven Musizieren, wie er immer wieder als Stammspieler in den Formationen Jazz Indeed und Nicolai Thärichens Tentett beweist. „Auf My Home Is My Tent“ verbindet er diese Leichtigkeit mit persönlichen Betrachtungen, Erfahrungen und musikalischen Ansätzen. Es ist eine Einladung an alle, die sich von Musik lieber herausgefordert fühlen als eingelullt, und die für eine außergewöhnliche Erfahrung kein Hotelbett brauchen, wenn doch manchmal ein Zelt ausreicht.



[nach oben] [zurück]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home