all news
all artists
all releases
all events



traumton.radio
   David Helbocks Random/Control: Random/Control: Release Information

[Tracks]   [Info]   [Media Resources]    [Order CD]



Release Date: 15.10.2010
EAN/UPC: 705304454725
TT Catalogue No: 4547

Random/Control

It is usually taken for granted that musicians, especially the bold and progressive ones, live in metropolises, but pianist and composer David Helbock is at home in Rheintal, south of Lake Constance. His music has little to do with the idyll of this alpine countryside however. In conversation, Helbock seems calm and thoughtful, suggesting a certain distance to a big city attitude. In his multi-faceted music meanwhile, you immediately notice the urgency in his defiance, defiance of complacency, of being content with the obvious or currently popular. You also can’t help noticing a very healthy sense of humor.

It’s a good nine-hour trip from Vorarlberg to Traumton-Studio in Berlin. The three musicians from Random/Control still waste no time getting down to business; immediately upon arival they set up their equipment and want to get started. An almost irrepressible drive to play is what unites David Helbock, Johannes Bär and Andreas Broger, along with an oft intuitive understanding. This intuition is nothing supernatural, but rather a sensitivity which has matured over a long period of time. Pianist Helbock and brass man Bär went to school together, later meeting up in Peter Madsen‘s „Collective of Improvising Artists“, where reedist Broger was also a member. Broger had, as fate would have it, already played with Bär in other constellations.

Random/Control combines juvenile energy with a determined will to shape and compose, playful creativity with a broad horizon of styles. The trio’s hallmark, among others, is the way they change instruments mid-song at breakneck speed, taking on almost athletic qualities, both on stage and in the studio. „Both of them each play at least five, six instruments or more,“ raves bandleader Helbock, „so an extremely high number of sound combinations is possible, which makes it incredibly fun to play.“ From time to time Helbock is still amazed at the virtuosity of his partners. „The speed with which Johannes Bär changes from the tuba to the piccolo-trumpet while still playing coherently, in perfect time, is quite unique.“

With this, Random/Control is already vaunting an unconventional profile. Analoguous to the pointedly chosen band name, Helbock, Bär and Broger themselves are all about the tension between sophisticated concepts and the impulsive joy of playing - a suspense that the trio is even able to create in the studio, not least through consequent live recordings. „We recorded several versions of the songs and chose the best one afterwards“, is the way Helbock describes the working method, that for the most part, can do without overdubs, and needs no editing whatsoever. „There are too many free passages in the tracks, you couldn’t just cut them out and put them in somewhere else because it wouldn’t fit.“

Jazz’s aspiration for freedom and its flirts with the classical music of Europe have history. David Helbock‘s sources of inspiration are spread all over the world, from Brazil‘s musical master Hermeto Pascoal, to his interest in Buddhism and Far Eastern philosophies. Helbock has his teacher, mentor, and friend, American pianist Peter Madsen, to thank for much of the stimulus to pursue these influences – all the musicians in Random/Control belong to Madsen’s band project CIA (Collective of Improvising Artists). Helbock‘s aesthetics strive for openness as well, playing with contrasts, surprising turns and fanciful improvisations. The twenty-six-year-old musician never takes the easy way out. When he started to write his own personal Real Book with one new composition daily in 2009, he assumed he had 1000 different ideas in his head. But he soon caught himself repeating himself, which only spurred him on. „I started to experiment with more and more instruments to try out other possibilities.“

Once again, David Helbock performed at the largest jazz piano competition for soloists worldwide, during the Montreux Jazz Festival 2010. As in 2007, he was among the finalists; this time he also won the audience award. Thanks to a well-founded classical training, Helbock commands an array of attack techniques, distinguishing him from many of those „pure“ jazz musicians.mSuch technical aspects do play a role for this 26-year-old individualist, especially when they help in the search for unexpected facets in the music.

And there are plenty of those to be found on Random/Control’s debut album. A piano ballad adorned with contemplative poetry reminds you of (imaginary) soundtracks with its kitsch-free romanticism; lyrical passages lure with suggestive, almost chamber music-like associations of trumpet, flugelhorn, bass, clarinet, and piano. Faster pieces flirt with circulating motives or minimalistic echos, playful variations and precipitous dynamics. A seemingly familiar melody is abstracted or briefly deconstructed, rhythmical staccati and fluttering modulations meander through varying tempi. At times Helbock works several electronic effects into his sound tapestries, but they remain subtle.

In every moment of the decidedly varied repertoire you can feel the band’s enthusiasm for their concept: a willful, yet equally balanced and contemporary musical encounter between philosophy and intuition.



[top] [back]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home

Alle News
Alle Künstler
Alle CDs
Alle Tourdaten



traumton.radio
   David Helbocks Random/Control: Random/Control: Release-Informationen

[Tracks]   [Infos]    [Pressematerial]   [CD bestellen]



VÖ: 15.10.2010
EAN/UPC: 705304454725
Traumton CD: 4547

Random/Control

Es gilt als selbstverständlich, dass Musiker in Metropolen wohnen, insbesondere die couragierten und progressiven. Der Pianist und Komponist David Helbock ist dagegen im Rheintal südlich des Bodensees zuhause, obwohl er musikalisch nichts mit ländlicher Alpenidylle im Sinn hat. Im Gespräch wirkt Helbock ruhig und überlegt, was auf eine gewisse Distanz zur großstädtischen Attitüde schließen lässt. In seiner facettenreichen Musik wird indes eine Dringlichkeit spürbar, sich nicht mit Naheliegendem oder Gängigem zu begnügen – und trotzdem Humor zu bewahren.

Vom Vorarlberg bis ins Berliner Traumton-Studio ist es eine gut neunstündige Reise. Dennoch verlieren die Drei von Random/Control, kaum angekommen, keine Zeit. Umgehend haben sie ihr Equipment aufgebaut und wollen loslegen. Der beinahe unbändige Drang zu spielen eint David Helbock, Johannes Bär und Andreas Broger ebenso wie eine oft intuitive Verständigung. Letztere ist keine Zauberei, sondern über längere Zeit gereift. Pianist Helbock und Blechbläser Bär drückten schon als Teenager die gleiche Schulbank, später trafen sie sich in Peter Madsens „Collective of Improvising Artists“ wieder, zu dem auch Holzbläser Broger gehört. Er wiederum spielte bereits zuvor mit Bär in anderen Konstellationen.

Random/Control vereint juvenile Energie und entschlossenen Gestaltungswillen, Spielwitz und stilistisch weitem Horizont. Markenzeichen des Trios ist unter anderem der rasante Wechsel zwischen unterschiedlichen Instrumenten, der auf der Bühne wie im Studio fast sportliche Züge annehmen kann. „Jeder der beiden spielt mindestens fünf, sechs Instrumente oder auch mehr“, freut sich Bandleader Helbock, „so sind extrem viele Klangkombinationen möglich, was unglaublich Spaß macht.“ Mitunter wundert sich Helbock immer noch über die Virtuosität seiner Partner. „In welcher Geschwindigkeit Johannes Bär von der Tuba zur Piccolo-Trompete wechselt und dabei auch noch sinnvolle Töne spielt ist ziemlich einmalig.“

So zeigt Random/Control schon formal unkonventionelles Profil. Analog zum absichtsvoll gewählten Bandnamen geht es Helbock, Bär und Broger um die Spannung zwischen ausgeklügeltem Konzept und impulsiver Spielfreude. Eine Spannung, die das Trio sogar im Studio zu erzeugen vermag, nicht zuletzt durch konsequente Live-Einspielungen. „Wir haben mehrere Versionen der Stücke aufgenommen und hinterher die jeweils beste ausgesucht“, beschreibt Helbock das Arbeitsprinzip, das weitgehend ohne Overdubs auskommt und auf Editing vollständig verzichtet. „Es gibt einfach zu viele freie Passagen in den Stücken, die könnte man gar nicht ausschneiden und woanders einfügen, denn sie würden nicht passen.“

Der Freiheitsdrang des Jazz und seine Flirts mit europäischer Klassik haben Geschichte. David Helbocks Inspirationsquellen sind noch weiter über die Welt verteilt, reichen vom brasilianischen Zeremonienmeister Hermeto Pascoal bis zur Beschäftigung mit Buddhismus und fernöstlichen Philosophien. Viele Anregungen zur Beschäftigung mit diesen Einflüssen verdankt Helbock seinem Lehrer, Mentor und Freund, dem amerikanischen Pianisten Peter Madsen, dessen Bandprojekt CIA (Collective of Improvising Artists) auch alle Musiker von Random/Control angehören. Auch Helbocks Ästhetik strebt nach Offenheit, spielt mit Kontrasten, überraschenden Wendungen und phantasievollen Improvisationen. Leicht macht es sich der 26-jährige Musiker nicht. Als er 2009 begann, sein persönliches Real Book mit einer täglichen Komposition zu schreiben, ging er davon aus, 1000 verschiedene Ideen im Kopf zu haben. Doch bald ertappte er sich bei den ersten Wiederholungen, was ihn umso mehr anspornte. „Ich fing an, mit immer mehr Instrumenten zu experimentieren, um andere Möglichkeiten auszuprobieren.“

Erneut spielte David Helbock 2010 beim weltweit größten Jazzpiano-Wettbewerb für Solisten im Rahmen des Festivals in Montreux. Wie schon 2007 wurde er dort ausgezeichnet, diesmal gewann er zusätzlich auch den Publikumspreis. Dank einer fundierten klassischen Ausbildung verfügt Helbock über eine variable Anschlagskultur, die in von manchem „reinen“ Jazzmusiker unterscheidet. Handwerkliche Aspekte spielen für den 26-jährigen Individualisten vor allem eine Rolle, wenn sie bei der Suche nach unerwarteten Facetten in der Musik helfen.

Davon gibt es auf dem Debütalbum von Random/Control reichlich. Eine Piano-Ballade, die von nachdenklicher Poesie verziert wird, erinnert in ihrer unkitschigen Romantik an (imaginäre) Soundtracks; lyrische Passagen locken mit suggestiven, fast kammermusikalische Assoziationen von Trompete, Flügelhorn, Bass-Klarinette und Piano. Schnellere Stücke flirten mit zirkulierenden Motiven oder minimalistischen Anklängen, verspielten Abwandlungen und jäher Dynamik. Eine vertraut erscheinende Melodie wird abstrahiert oder kurzfristig energisch dekonstruiert, rhythmische Stakkati und flatternde Modulationen mäandern durch variierende Tempi. Zuweilen arbeitet Helbock einige elektronische Effekte in seine Klangmalereien ein, die sich aber nicht übermäßig wichtig nehmen.

In jedem Moment des ausgesprochen abwechslungsreichen Repertoires ist die Begeisterung der Band für ihr Konzept spürbar: eine eigenwillige, ebenso ausbalancierte wie zeitgemäße musikalische Begegnung von Philosophie und Intuition.



[nach oben] [zurück]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home