all news
all artists
all releases
all events



traumton.radio
   Johnny La Marama: Il Purgatorio: Release Information

[Tracks]   [Info]   [Media Resources]    [Order CD]



Release Date: 14.02.2014
EAN/UPC: 705304460023
TT Catalogue No: 4600

Johnny La Marama, Il Purgatorio

Who the hell is Johnny La Marama, everyone asked when the band of the same name released their debut album in 2006. Now they’re asking: Where the hell is he?

Where does the fiend possibly go? Exactly! To hell. Or at least to purgatory. So after “Fire!” and “Bicycle Revolution” it makes perfect sense that Kalle Kalima, Chris Dahlgren and Eric Schaefer now send their fictive desperado to “Il Purgatorio”.

There sins get swept out of the souls with a hot broom in roman-catholic theology. But originally it was supposed to be a place of rest before going to heaven. Probably Johnny La Marama also thought that purgatory was some sort of illuminated lounge bar, where he starts off with a relaxed drink before continuing the search for his buddy Hans Hansson, and afterwards ascends to a heavenly manna feast. But he had made a hell of a mistake!

Dante described purgatory in the Devine Comedy. Throughout seven terraces delinquents expiate towards salvation. Kalle Kalima, Chris Dahlgren and Eric Schaefer have extended Marama’s purgatory-journey by a few breathers, historical figures and contemporary contents to eleven songs. And since we rarely see anyone from that region again, here’s the Johnny-La-Marama-travel-guide through purgatory:

To begin with, the ancient poet Virgil teams with the protagonist and supports him with his leadership. “Step up the Tower” establishes at the foot of Monte Purgatorio that it will be an exhausting ascent. On the first terrace, the Terrace of the Proud, the two have to hack themselves a bluesy way through representatives of the dark side of the modern internet-world in “Cyber Crusade”.
After a short recreational break in Ponderosa-freestyle (“Happy Song”) with western-soundtrack like music in pleasant memories, they meet someone who is miserable. He calls himself Dante, and he got stuck on the second terrace on his purgatory excursion. It is burning hot and lonely there. Guitarist Kalle Kalima gave this station the atmosphere of a long abandoned western town rotting away in its own depression.
Another “old acquaintance” is encountered on the third terrace. “Carlo Gesualdo” murdered his wife and her lover in 1590. Thereafter, depressed and close to derangement, he wrote music, which was centuries ahead of his time. A short dramaturgical leap leads to the sixth, bitter cold level. Even if you experience the banking world as a febrile memorial of present-day insanity in “Cash Flow”; covetousness is a truly timeless place forever with new content. After a small “Intermezzo”, a session with imaginary musician buddies and even more drinks (which is why the song, with over 11 minutes, is the longest on the album), La Marama and Virgil go back. Gesualdo’s ex, “Maria D’Alvos”, is just slowly dragging herself towards the covetous (5th terrace) to meet her lover “Fabrizio Carafa” – defying all of our hero’s warnings.
The seventh terrace of the lustful would be quite in tune with La Marama’s fancy with its pretty women and the cool music in “Devil Dance” (reminiscent of Strauss’ Salome and 60s lava lamps), but Virgil pushes them on.
Eventually, at the summit of Mount Purgatory they finally meet the Hans Hansson they’ve been seeking, who is in a transcendental (in the bands terminus: “trans-in-dental”) levitation, whose weightlessness is facilitated by angelic beauties in “Laying Hands on Hans Hansson” in a “Sentimental Journey”-persiflage.

Once you’ve folded back your amazed ears after listening to Il Purgatorio, you only wonder why this magical triad from Berlin didn’t encounter any other whimsical characters on their purgatory-journey; such as Frank Zappa, Charles Mingus, Karlheinz Stockhausen, bad country music, legendary rock guitarists and a horde of punk bands.

In Johnny’s Hell’s Precipice the listener really gets roasted, the Berliner “Purgatorio” sometimes sounds as if a steel press with a hard drive error is running on autopilot. It rocks and bangs, sighs and grooves in all pitches and meters. The stairs to blessedness are crooked, full of odd meters, rhythmic ricochets and stumbling blocks. Above all though, Il Purgatorio is an expressive, epic movie soundtrack, very American in demeanor and in “song”. Somehow one constantly imagines oneself in Tarantino’s Titty Twister-bar from his picture From Dusk till Dawn. The usual parameters are not relevant here. Or were just devoured.

Johnny La Marama of course has mucho guitar. Kalle Kalima’s specialty thereon is the constructive deconstruction, honestly ironizing dishonest clichés. Or was it the other way around? The Finish guitarist can confidently be called the Euro-Marc Ribot, likewise versatile and multilayered in his playing. But also Eric Schaefer’s studies in New Music and a certain art-rock background step into the foreground. Chris Dahlgren finally “disguises” his prolific career in the New Music-jazz scene with his groovy backing. In any case, also the third Johnny-La-Marama-Coup makes it clear that its musical doubles get along blindly and very well; a real team, in which everyone interacts from their high levels on the same level with the others. In that way one can confidently go through hell. Even when “The Three from the Punk-Filling Station” with pumps of rock, grunge, jazz and improvisation with a high octane rating go straight to (music-) heaven with this purgatory ride.



[top] [back]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home

Alle News
Alle Künstler
Alle CDs
Alle Tourdaten



traumton.radio
   Johnny La Marama: Il Purgatorio: Release-Informationen

[Tracks]   [Infos]    [Pressematerial]   [CD bestellen]



VÖ: 14.02.2014
EAN/UPC: 705304460023
Traumton CD: 4600

Johnny La Marama, Il Purgatorio

Who, the hell, is Johnny La Marama, hieß es beim Debütalbum der gleichnamigen Band 2006. Jetzt fragt man sich: Where, the hell, is he?

Wohin kommt wohl der Unhold? Genau! In die Hölle. Oder mindestens ins Fegefeuer. Völlig logisch also, dass Kalle Kalima, Chris Dahlgren und Eric Schaefer ihren fiktiven Desperado nach „Fire!“ und „Bicycle Revolution“ nun ins „Il Purgatorio“ schicken.

In der römisch-katholischen Theologie werden dort mit heißem Besen die Sünden aus den Seelen gekehrt. Ursprünglich war das aber als ein Ort zur Erholung gedacht, bevor man in den Himmel fährt. Vermutlich dachte auch Johnny La Marama, dass das Fegefeuer eine besonders illuminierte Art von Lounge-Bar sei, in der er erst mal relaxt einen Drink nimmt, bevor er weiter nach seinem Kumpel Hans Hansson sucht und hernach zur himmlischen Manna-Speisung auffährt.
Aber er hat sich – höllisch - geirrt.

Dante hat das Purgatorium in der Göttlichen Komödie beschrieben. Über sieben Terrassen büßen sich dort die Delinquenten zur Erlösung hin. Kalle Kalima, Chris Dahlgren und Eric Schaefer haben Maramas Fegefeuerreise um ein paar Verschnaufspausen, historische Gestalten und zeitgenössische Inhalte auf elf Songs ausgebaut. Und da wir hienieden selten einen aus dieser Gegend wiedersehen, hier also der Johnny-La-Marama-Reiseführer durchs Fegefeuer:

Zunächst einmal stellt sich dem Protagonisten der antike Poet Vergil als Führer zur Seite. „Step up the Tower“ stellt am Grunde des Monte Purgatorio klar, dass das ein anstrengender Aufstieg wird.
Auf der ersten Terrasse des Stolzes müssen sich die beiden in „Cyber Crusade“ einen bluesigen Weg durch die Schattenseitenvertreter der modernen Internetwelt hacken.
Nach einer kleinen erinnerungsseligen Westernfilmmusikartigen Erholungspause im Ponderosa-Free-Style („Happy Song“) entdecken sie einen Unglücklichen. Er nennt sich Dante und ist auf seiner Fegefeuer-Exkursion auf der zweiten Terrasse hängen geblieben. Dort ist es wüstenheiß und einsam. Gitarrist Kalle Kalima verpasst der Station das Flair einer seit langem verlassen in ihrer eigenen Depression vor sich hinmodernden Westernstadt.
Einen weiteren „alten Bekannten“ trifft man auf der dritten Terrasse. „Carlo Gesualdo“ brachte 1590 seine Frau und deren Liebhaber um. Danach schrieb er deprimiert und der Umnachtung nahe Musik, die seiner Zeit Jahrhunderte voraus war. Ein kurzer dramaturgischer Zwischensprung führt auf die sechste, bitterkalte Stufe. Auch wenn man dort in „Cash Flow“ die Bankenwelt als fiebriges Denkmal heutigen Wahnsinns erlebt; die Gier ist ein wahrhaft zeitloser Ort mit immer neuen Inhalten.
Nach einem kleinen „Intermezzo“, einer Session mit imaginären Musikerkumpels und noch mehr Drinks (weswegen der Song mit über 11 Minuten der längste auf dem Album ist), begeben sich La Marama und Vergil zurück. Gesualdos Ex, „Maria D’Avalos“, hangelt sich von der vierten Stufe gerade träge Richtung Begierde (5. Terrasse), um dort ihren Liebhaber „Fabrizio Carafa“ zu treffen – aller Warnungen unseres Helden zum Trotz.
     Die siebte Terrasse der Lüsternheit wäre mit ihren hübschen Frauen und cooler Musik im „Devil Dance“ (Strauss’ Salome und Ölblubberlampen aus den 60ern lassen grüßen) so recht nach La Maramas Geschmack, aber Vergil drängt weiter.
     Auf dem Gipfel des Purgatoriumbergs schließlich treffen sie endlich den gesuchten Hans Hansson, der sich in einer transdeszentalen (im Bandterminus: „trans-in-dental“) Levitation befindet, deren Schwerelosigkeit ihm von engelsgleichen Schönheiten in „Laying Hands on Hans Hansson“ in einer „Sentimental-Journey“-Persiflage erleichtert wird.

Hat man die staunenden Ohren nach dem Anhören Il Purgatorio wieder angeklappt, wundert einen eigentlich nur noch, dass der Wunderdreier aus Berlin auf seiner Fegefeuerreise nicht auch noch andere Wunderliche der Musikgeschichte in persona getroffen hat; als da etwa wären Frank Zappa, Charles Mingus, Karlheinz Stockhausen, schlechte Countrymusik, legendäre Rockgitarristen und eine Horde Punkbands.

In Johnnys Vorhof der Hölle wird der Hörer gut gegrillt, das Berliner „Purgatorio“ hört sich zuweilen an, als ob eine Stahlpresse mit Festplattenfehler auf Autopilot läuft. Es rockt und knallt, seufzt und groovt in allen Tonlagen und Metren. Die Treppenstufen zur Glückseligkeit, die sind schief, voller ungerader Metren, rhythmischer Querschläger und Stolpersteine. Vor allem aber ist Il Purgatorio eine ausdrucksvolle, epische Filmmusik, sehr amerikanisch in Gestus und „Gesängen“. Irgendwie wähnt man sich ständig in Tarantinos Titty Twister-Bar aus From Dusk till Dawn. Die üblichen Parameter kommen hier zum Erliegen. Oder wurden einfach aufgefressen.

Johnny La Marama ist natürlich mucho Gitarre. Kalle Kalimas Spezialität darauf ist das konstruktive Dekonstruieren, unehrliche Klischees ehrlich zu ironisieren. Oder war das umgekehrt? Der finnische Gitarrist kann mittlerweile getrost als der Euro-Marc Ribot bezeichnet werden, ähnlich versatil und vielschichtig wie er spielt. Aber ebenso treten Eric Schaefers Studien in Neuer Musik und ein gewisser Art-Rock-Background in den Vordergrund. Chris Dahlgren schließlich „tarnt“ seine amtliche Karriere im Neutöner-Jazzbereich hinter grooviger Unterfütterung. Auf jeden Fall wird auch im dritten Johnny-La-Marama-Coup deutlich, dass sich seine musikalischen Doubles bestens und blindlings verstehen, ein echtes Team, in dem jeder von seiner Höhe aus auf gleicher Höhe mit den anderen interagiert. Damit kann man getrost durch die Hölle gehen. Auch wenn die „Drei von der Punkstelle“ mit Zapfsäulen aus Rock, Grunge, Jazz und Improvisation in hoher Oktanzahl, mit dieser Fegefeuerfahrt ganz sicher sofort in den (Musik-) Himmel auffahren.



[nach oben] [zurück]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home