all news
all artists
all releases
all events



traumton.radio
   Bernhard Meyer: Murmuration: Release Information

[Tracks]   [Info]   [Media Resources]    [Order CD]



Release Date: 02.02.2018
EAN/UPC: 705304466025
TT Catalogue No: 4660

Bernhard Meyer - Murmuration

“I have had this formation in mind for some time now,” Bernhard Meyer says about his quintet, which unites an unusual combination of instruments and charismatic musicians. “The specific sound came together over time in my imagination,” Meyer continues, “inspired by collaboration with these musicians individually, in smaller formations.” Of course the ingenious unity with his brother Peter is present again, well known through three highly acclaimed albums and countless concerts of the Melt Trio. Moreover, Bernhard Meyer’s particular, melodiously rich playing of his semi-acoustic bass has impressed listeners in co-operations with Norway’s live-remixer and electronica-grandmaster Jan Bang (with the Melt Trio), John Hollenbeck, Jim Black, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Nasheet Waits, Eric Schaefer and many more.

Besides the Melt Trio, the Meyer brothers have been exploring similarities with another outstanding drummer of the German scene for a while now, namely Andi Haberl. The Bavarian Berliner-by-choice made a name for himself with distinctive appearances with the Andromeda Mega Express Orchestra and has been fascinating audiences with Europe’s most progressive indie-rock band The Notwist for years. In addition, Bernhard Meyer played several concerts in a chamber musical jazz trio with the clarinet virtuoso and electronic tinkerer Claudio Puntin and Julius Heise, who shone as a fine jazz vibraphonist, with the Brand Brauer Frick Ensemble among others.

Some time ago Bernhard Meyer united the different personalities into a new quintet. On Murmuration the stylists now reach tremendous depth and wonderful richness of detail. At times their playing is extremely filigree, like a ballerina they perform surprising twists on tiptoes. At the same time there is a force inherent in their interaction, which blazes the way dynamically and can boost and intensify contrasts. The expression spans from acoustic nuances all the way to contemporary electronica vignettes and futuristic facets. Bernhard Meyer’s individual bass playing goes far beyond just setting the basis and carries melodies and rhythms. On top of that, the internal allocation of responsibilities shifts. Sometimes Peter Meyer and Julius Heise create harmonic chords and transparent sound layers, then the guitarist changes to join Claudio Puntin, to merge melodies and electronic sounds. Just a little later the Meyer brothers and Andi Haberl act as a rhythm section, trenchantly pressing the groove forward.

Bernhard Meyer’s compositions and arrangements unroll a wide panorama. It is so rich in variety that you always want to keep going, curious to find out what happens beyond the next bend. Melodies and themes flash up, fade again into the background and come back unexpectedly from a different direction. Every piece has its own character. “Plain Air” is reminiscent of Steve Reich’s pathbreaking minimalism, “Unchild” conveys almost sacral atmosphere, “Wooden” captivates with its open and in a broader sense free approach. At times one deems to perceive distant allusions to John Hollenbeck’s Claudia Quintet, Bill Frisell, colorfully shimmering arrangements of Sufjan Stevens or Kurt Rosenwinkel’s Heartcore. A scale by Olivier Messiaen provides the basis for a three-part unison in “Corus”.

New perspectives surprise again and again, even within certain tracks Meyer skillfully plays with alleged contrasts. Like in “Growl”, where weightless, warm sounding vibraphone and cool monolithic synthesizers encounter each other get along remarkably well. In “Plain Air” the Classical minimalism makes way after a while for a passage, in which the spirit of Charles Mingus comes alive; then towards the end the piece comes closer to the indie progressive rockers Grizzly Bear. Throughout the album, grooves interchange with odd meters and freely devised rhythms. Some ingenuity might remain concealed to the listener, which doesn’t disrupt the enjoyment though, nor does it bother Bernhard Meyer. He sees the conceptual deliberations for his pieces primarily as a toolbox for producing new ideas. As an example for details with deeper background, he mentions his bass improvisation on “Aphir”, which isn’t performed as a traditional solo, but is abstracted in a live-remix by Peter Meyer and Claudio Puntin.

Bernhard Meyer has meticulously polished many aspects of his compositions. As head of the quintet, most impulses and ideas do indeed come from him - at the same it is important to him, that his partners have room to bring in their personal talents. Thus drummer Andi Haberl and the Classically trained and New Music versed Julius Heise can also exhibit their sense for orchestration. A master of this discipline is Claudio Puntin, when he’s not playing as a soloist. Born 1965 in the Central Swiss town Zug, the multiply award-winning clarinetist wrote music, besides for his own productions, also for film, theatre, audio dramas, and exhibitions. His list of collaboration partners is long and stretches from Steve Reich, Carla Bley, Fred Frith, Hermeto Pascoal and Sidsel Endresen to the Ensemble Modern and the Philharmonic Orchestras of Cologne, Munich and Zurich. Most recently Puntin worked in the Trio Ambiq with producers and DJs Max Loderbauer and Ricardo Villalobos, to create bridges between free improvisation and electronic music.

Clever and smart ideas run through Murmuration like a golden thread and the intuitive playing attitude of the band makes the album lively. A dazzling band sound is the motivation and objective for Bernhard Meyer. Innovation and form are the important parameters thereby. The album title references the spectacular flights of starlings, where the complex interconnectedness and densification fascinates all people and still poses riddles to science. “I’ve had the pictures of these swarms in mind for quite some time, as a synonym for a band that can fluently and unpredictably vary delicate structures and textures,” Bernhard Meyer says. His band may not reach the volume of a swarm in numbers, but their diversity of sound surpasses the expectations a quintet usually generates. Meyer’s Murmuration mesmerizes the listener just like the swarms of starlings its observers.



[top] [back]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home

Alle News
Alle Künstler
Alle CDs
Alle Tourdaten



traumton.radio
   Bernhard Meyer: Murmuration: Release-Informationen

[Tracks]   [Infos]    [Pressematerial]   [CD bestellen]



VÖ: 02.02.2018
EAN/UPC: 705304466025
Traumton CD: 4660


Bernhard Meyer - Murmuration

„Diese Besetzung hatte ich schon seit langem im Kopf“, sagt Bernhard Meyer über sein  Quintett, das eine ungewöhnliche Kombination von Instrumenten und charismatischen Musikern vereint. „Der spezifische Sound hat sich mit der Zeit in meiner Vorstellung zusammengefügt“, fährt Meyer fort, „inspiriert durch die Zusammenarbeit mit einzelnen dieser Musiker in kleineren Formationen.“ Natürlich gibt es hier wieder die genialische Einheit mit seinem Bruder Peter, hinlänglich bekannt durch drei hoch gelobte Alben und unzählige Konzerte des Melt Trios. Bernhard Meyers spezielles, melodiesattes Spiel auf dem Halbresonanz-Bass beeindruckte darüber hinaus in Kooperationen mit Norwegens Live-Remix- und Elektro-Großmeister Jan Bang (mit dem Melt Trio), John Hollenbeck, Jim Black, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Nasheet Waits, Eric Schaefer u.v.a.

Schon seit einer Weile loten die Brüder Meyer parallel zum Melt Trio Gemeinsamkeiten mit einem anderen herausragenden Schlagzeuger der deutschen Szene aus, nämlich Andi Haberl. Der bayerische Wahl-Berliner hat sich durch markante Einsätze beim Andromeda Mega Express Orchester profiliert und begeistert seit Jahren in Europas progressivster Indie-Rockband The Notwist. Daneben spielte Bernhard Meyer einige Konzerte als Kammerjazz-Trio mit dem Klarinetten-Virtuosen und Elektronik-Tüftler Claudio Puntin sowie Julius Heise, der als subtiler Jazz-Vibraphonist u.a. im Brand Brauer Frick Ensemble glänzte.

Vor einiger Zeit hat Bernhard Meyer die verschiedenen Persönlichkeiten zu einem neuen Quintett vereint. Auf Murmuration erreichen die Stilisten nun enorme Tiefe und  wunderbaren Detailreichtum. Zuweilen spielen sie extrem filigran, absolvieren wie eine Ballerina überraschende Wendungen auf Zehenspitzen. Gleichzeitig wohnt ihren Interaktionen eine Kraft inne, die sich dynamisch Bahn brechen, Kontraste verstärken und verdichten kann. Der Ausdruck reicht von akustischen Nuancen über zeitgenössische Elektro-Vignetten bis zu futuristischen Facetten. Bernhard Meyers individuelles Bassspiel reicht weit über Grundierungen hinaus, trägt Melodien und Rhythmen. Darüber hinaus wechselt die interne Aufgabenverteilung. Mal kreieren Peter Meyer und Julius Heise harmonische Akkorde und transparente Klangschichten, dann wechselt der Gitarrist an die Seite von Claudio Puntin, um Melodien und Elektro-Sounds zu verschmelzen. Wenig später agieren die Brüder Meyer mit Andi Haberl als Rhythmusgruppe, die pointiert Druck macht.

Bernhard Meyers Kompositionen und Arrangements breiten ein weites Panorama aus. Es ist so abwechslungsreich, das man immer weiter gehen mag, neugierig darauf, was hinter der nächsten Biegung passiert. Melodien und Themen leuchten auf, treten in den Hintergrund und kommen unvermittelt aus anderer Richtung zurück. Jedes Stück hat einen eigenen Charakter. In Plain Air leuchten Anklänge an Steve Reichs wegweisenden Minimalismus auf, Unchild vermittelt beinahe sakrale Stimmung, Wooden fesselt durch seine offene, im weiteren Sinne freie Anlage. Zwischenzeitlich meint man entfernte Erinnerungen an John Hollenbecks Claudia Quintett, Bill Frisell, die in vielen Farben schillernden Arrangements von Sufjan Stevens oder Kurt Rosenwinkels Heartcore zu erkennen. Eine Skala von Olivier Messiaen bildet in Corus die Grundlage für ein Dreifach-Unisono.

Immer wieder überraschen neue Perspektiven, selbst innerhalb mancher Titel spielt Meyer geschickt mit vermeintlichen Gegensätzen. Etwa bei Growl, wo schwereloses, warm timbriertes Vibraphon und kühl-monolithische Synthesizer aufeinander treffen und sich bemerkenswert gut verstehen. In Plain Air weicht der klassische Minimalismus nach einer Weile einer Passage, durch die der Geist von Charles Mingus weht, gegen Ende nähert sich das Stück den Indie-Progressive-Rockern Grizzly Bear. Durch das Album hindurch wechseln sich Grooves mit ungeraden Metren und frei erfundenen Rhythmen ab. Manche Raffinesse bleibt dem Hörer womöglich verborgen, was weder den Genuss, noch Bernhard Meyer stört. Die konzeptionellen Überlegungen zu seinen Stücken sieht er vor allem als  Werkzeugkasten, um auf neue Ideen zu kommen. Als Beispiel für hintersinnige Details erwähnt er seine Bass-Improvisation in Aphir, die nicht als traditionelles Solo auftritt, sondern im Live-Remix von Peter Meyer und Claudio Puntin abstrahiert wird.
 
Bernhard Meyer hat viele Aspekte seiner Kompositionen akribisch ausgefeilt. Als Kopf des Quintetts ist er zwar Impuls- und Ideengeber, gleichzeitig liegt ihm daran, dass seine Partner Räume haben, ihre persönlichen Talente einzubringen. So können auch Drummer Andi Haberl und der klassisch geschulte, in Neuer Musik versierte Julius Heise ihr Gespür für Orchestrierungen aufblitzen lassen. Ein Meister in dieser Disziplin ist Claudio Puntin, wenn er nicht gerade als Solist brilliert. 1965 im zentralschweizerischen Zug geboren, hat der mehrfach ausgezeichnete Klarinettist in den zurückliegenden Jahren neben seinen eigenen Produktionen auch für Film, Theater, Hörspiele und Ausstellungen Musik geschrieben. Lang ist die Liste seiner Kooperationspartner, sie reicht von Steve Reich,
Carla Bley, Fred Frith, Hermeto Pascoal und Sidsel Endresen bis zum Ensemble Modern und den Philharmonieorchestern in Köln, München und Zürich. Zuletzt arbeitete Puntin im Trio Ambiq mit den Produzenten und DJs Max Loderbauer und Ricardo Villalobos, um Brücken zwischen freier Improvisation und elektronischer Musik zu kreieren.  

Gewitzte Ideen ziehen sich als rote Fäden durch Murmuration, die intuitive Spielhaltung der Band macht das Album lebendig. Ein schillernder Bandsound ist für Bernhard Meyer Motivation und Ziel, wichtige Parameter dabei sind Innovation und Form. Der Albumtitel verweist auf die spektakulären Flüge der Stare, deren komplizierte Vernetzung und Verdichtung alle Menschen faszinieren und der Wissenschaft immer noch Rätsel aufgeben. „Ich hatte die Bilder dieser Schwärme schon länger im Kopf, als Synonym für eine Band, die filigrane Strukturen und Texturen fließend und unvorhersehbar variieren kann“, sagt Bernhard Meyer. Seine Band mag zahlenmäßig nicht das Volumen eines Schwarms erreichen, ihre Klangvielfalt übertrifft aber die Erwartungen, die ein Quintett üblicherweise weckt. Meyers Murmuration lässt den Hörer ebenso staunen wie die Schwärme der Stare ihre Betrachter.



[nach oben] [zurück]



© Traumton 1998 - 2007 ::: Impressum ::: ::: home